#BlogTour! Love Them & Leave Them by Sue Shepherd (@thatsueshepherd) @emmamitchellfpr #Review

sues1

On his way home, Ed makes a split-second decision that changes the lives of all those who love him.

Six years on, Ed’s daughter, Jessie, is stuck in a job with no prospects, her dreams never fulfilled. It will take more than her unreliable boyfriend, Chris, and temperamental best friend, Coco, to give her the confidence to get her life back on track.

But what if Ed had made another decision? It could all have been so different …

Six years on, Ed’s daughter, Jessica, has a successful career, loving boyfriend, Nick, and a keen eye on her dream home. But when new clients, a temperamental Coco, and her unreliable boyfriend, Chris, walk into her life, Jessica’s perfect world soon starts to unravel.

Love Them and Leave Them is a story of love, families, friendship and a world of possibilities. Whichever decision Ed makes, the same people are destined to come into his daughter’s life, sometimes in delightfully different ways. And before they can look forward to the future, they will all have to deal with the mistakes of the past.

What does TWG think?

Wow, where do I begin? It took me a little while to work out what was happening as the storyline kept switching between times, which wasn’t as clear as I would have liked. However, once I realised it was like that I was able to envelope myself in the storyline.

This is yet another tough review to write as I need to be extremely careful about what I say in case the slightest sentence written, gives away anything vital!
I must admit though, the entire novel caught me off guard. I didn’t start reading with any expectations yet from start to finish, the storyline exceeded any expectations I would have had, or did have subconsciously. Does that make sense?

I was absolutely blown away by the powerful emotion that hid beneath Sue’s intense storyline. It really did make me think about how our decisions, regardless of how big or small, will affect someone or something in an irreversible way. Scary thought really isn’t it? Makes the question ‘could you pass the milk?’ not as simple as one once thought as you’re either going to annoy them by saying no, or you’re going to be pausing what you’re doing to say yes, in turn annoying yourself. Don’t get me wrong, the powerful storyline in this book is nothing compared to milk, but hopefully you get what I’m saying! The whole concept really did make me think and it was even harder to digest when you had different outcomes of those choices, unfolding in front of your very own eyes.

Whilst ‘Love Them & Leave Them’ is based, albeit loosely, around relationships, the novel stands out from similar rom com style books. This isn’t a book about the simple things in life, or whether the boy gets the girl. It’s a book about choices and what happens when you make a decision based on a whim. It’s a book about putting your trust and faith into people who have never given you reason to trust them before. It’s a book about thinking and learning how to do what is right for YOU when the situation calls for it. That said, it’s also a book about making decisions because you HAVE to and not because you WANT to.

‘Love Them & Leave Them’ filled me with so much raw emotion, I couldn’t even file my thoughts away as quickly as I would have liked to. The storyline made me think, it made me gasp, it made me laugh and yes, it even made me well up. BUT, Sue Shepherd’s book isn’t a plain sailing as the cover suggests that it is; it’s deep, raw and it just keeps giving.

The way the storyline was set out, the dimensions of the characters, even the possible outcomes of the circumstances in question; everything just….fit.

‘Love Them & Leave Them’ really blew me away with its quirkiness and powerful storyline, so much so, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it since I finished reading it.

Eye-opening, thoughtful and incredibly intense; ‘Love Them & Leave Them’ will stay with you for a very long time. As long as you remember to think…

Thank you Sue.

Buy now.

sues

One thought on “#BlogTour! Love Them & Leave Them by Sue Shepherd (@thatsueshepherd) @emmamitchellfpr #Review

Leave a Reply

