#Tour! #BookReview of The Promise by Casey Kelleher (@caseykelleher) @bookouture

casey1

Growing up in squalor with their drug-addicted prostitute mother, sisters Georgie and Marnie Parker have had to endure the very darkest side of life.

When their mother is sentenced for brutally murdering a client, Georgie and Marnie’s already precarious lives are blown apart and they now share a terrible secret. Sent to a children’s home, the sisters hope this might finally be their safe haven after years of neglect. But they soon discover they’re in real danger.

Desperate to find a place of safety, Georgie and Marnie run for their lives, but end up in the hands of Delray Anderton. A violent London gangster and notorious pimp, Delray has big plans for beautiful teenager Georgie, seeing her as a chance to make some serious money.

Fiercely protective of each other, Georgie and Marnie must escape the clutches of a man who will do anything to keep the sisters for himself. And, they must keep the promise they made to each other – no one can ever know the truth.

What does TWG think?

Oh my! Today is the first day of Casey Kelleher’s blog tour for her BRAND NEW BOOK (released today FYI), The Promise. It is SUCH an honour to be kicking off the tour with my review of the book, thank you!

Well the hell do I start with this one?! Georgie and Marnie haven’t exactly had a childhood to be proud of; not that it was their own doing of course. Having heard (and seen) a lot of things that children should most certainly NOT be hearing, the sisters need to find a way protect their sanity, and fast. Unfortunately, due to their mothers extra curricular activities shall we say, Georgie and Marnie’s sanity isn’t the only thing which they need to protect; their lives are now hanging in the balance.

How? What? When? Why? Geeeeeez Casey! ‘The Promise’ had me hooked straight away; the squalor Georgie and Marnie were living in, as well as wondering what the hell their mother was playing at, were two HUGE reasons for me to keep reading. To be honest, I felt weary of stopping the book for even one second, in case I was in danger myself! That’s my excuse to have had the book glued to me the whole time and I’m sticking to it!

I just wanted to reach into the pages and pull Marnie out into safety. My maternal instincts went through the roof for both of the girls of course, but I needed to save Marnie! Poor souls! Their lives were a complete mess and so was their mother to be honest, but oh my goodness the suspense! I didn’t know which character needed more focus, I had no idea where the storyline was heading, nor had I a clue as to who was going to be the next ‘client’ in the door! But I’ll tell you something, I could NOT tear my eyes away from the gritty storyline that was unfolding before my very eyes.

I got about halfway through the book when I had to pause. All of a sudden the storyline became much darker than I ever anticipated, and it became a little hard for me to read. I had to pause, gather my thoughts and then pick up the book again. The intensity of the storyline changed so suddenly, the events that were happening at that moment in time actually made me jump. Casey Kelleher managed to not only hold my attention for a very long time, she also managed to make me forget my surroundings and placed me IN the storyline. Have you ever had that when you’re so invested in a storyline and the slightest thing, like patting your arm whilst reading, will make you jump? It’s as though your own reality is an intruder and the storyline is your current reality.

I’ll admit, yes the storyline at times was a bit difficult to read in places due to the harsh and powerful circumstances within. However, if an author is able to make you feel as though you cannot continue with the book, yet is also able to make you return to the novel as though it’s your addiction; it means that the author is phenomenal at their craft. Yes Casey Kelleher, I’m talking about you! I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover, just like you shouldn’t judge people, but Casey, WOW! I had NO IDEA that she had those disturbing, real, gritty and dark situations up her sleeve. It.Blew.My.Mind.

What a completely disturbing, hard-hitting, head funk of a book that will have you hanging off of every single word the author has written. To tear your eyes away from such an intense storyline would be a travesty; for you.
‘The Promise’ is full of gut wrenching, spine tingling and hair-raising moments, enough to keep you on the edge of your seat wanting more (as well as giving your heart a good work out). Casey Kelleher has showcased her true writing ability within this novel and by golly it’s not one to be missed. Shame on you if you do!

Thank you Bookouture!

Buy: Amazon UK // Amazon US.

About the author.

Born in Cuckfield, West Sussex, Casey Kelleher grew up as an avid reader and a huge fan of author Martina Cole.

Whilst working as a beauty therapist and bringing up her three children together with her husband, Casey penned her debut novel Rotten to the Core. Its success meant that she could give up her day job and concentrate on writing full time.

She has since published Rise and Fall, Heartless, Bad Blood, The Taken and her latest release, The Promise.

For all news and updates:

www.caseykelleher.co.uk

www.facebook.com/officialcaseykelleher

http://caseykelleher.wordpress.com

Twitter: @caseykelleher

Make sure you keep following the rest of blog tour!

casey.png

Leave a Reply

