#BlogTour! #Review – The Good Enough Mother by @anoushkabeazley @neverlandBT

gem.png

gem1

Blurb.

Gatlin – a leafy, affluent town: Chelsea tractors and ladies who lunch. However all is not as it seems. Drea, a most unnatural mother, struggles to find private school fees for her step-daughter Ava after her boyfriend leaves her for another woman. Watching the yummy mummies she becomes inspired, hatching a daring and criminal plan…unleashing all hell in the quiet town of Gatlin. Can Drea survive the fallout and the wrath of the PTA? A satirical and hilarious black comedy about love, motherhood and the human condition.

What does TWG think?

‘The Good Enough Mother’ seemed to be a book that was constantly in the spotlight last year. A lot of fellow bloggers raved about it and from that moment, I just knew it had to make my TBR. I am only human after all and I did end up forgetting about it; cue NeverlandBT and an upcoming tour to give me the kick up the cupcake and read it.

When it comes to books that have been rated rather highly, it can put you on edge wondering whether you would enjoy it as much as everybody else, or whether it was worth the hype. I’ll be honest, I was really looking forward to reading one of the most talked about books of 2016, which unfortunately meant that my hopes were incredibly high upon starting the novel. As soon as I had read the first paragraph, I knew that the storyline would be one that I hadn’t read about before as it oozed raw and gritty situations. Raw and gritty are fabulous in a storyline, especially if the momentum continues throughout the whole thing. For me, working out whether the momentum continued, was something that I had to leave unanswered for the majority of the book.

Drea’s world has gone bottoms up and she’s left holding the baby. Well, Ava isn’t a baby but neither is she Drea’s. However, considering that Ava goes to a rather expensive school, I suppose you could say that yes, Ava is her own; seeing as Drea will be the one shelling out the money to keep her there. In other people’s world, they would go for the logical way of fixing things (or attempting to). In Drea’s world, she goes for the way that tests every emotion she has ever known, and then some.

Even though Anoushka Beazley’s book shouts dark, on edge storyline with a hint of ‘what the?’ for good measure, the authors humour was the ‘thing’ to keep me reading the book. Anoushka Beazley seemed to write troublesome situations one moment, before swiftly moving on with giggle fest anecdotes the next. It was the type of humour that makes you wonder why you’re laughing, yet you cannot stop. Dry humour. Real humour.

I said above how ‘The Good Enough Mother’ seemed to be ‘the one to watch’ last year; I really did hope that it would come under that heading for me. But it didn’t leave me as fulfilled as I hoped that it would. I struggled to work out the general consensus of the storyline, especially Drea’s amateur dramatics. I did try to feel sorry for her and a lot of her antics did make me laugh. However, she was the type of character that could end up winning awards for her performance.

Whilst the storyline did uncover snippets of maternal instincts and trying to think outside of the box, I did finish the book comparing it to a ‘marmite book’.
Anoushka’s humour won me over where the book is concerned. The way that she executed the humourous one liners at the perfect moment, was sheer genius.

Yes, ‘The Good Enough Mother’ wasn’t my cup of tea as such, it was still a book that contained a lot of potential for the future, as well as being a book that will definitely get people talking. It’s unique, quirky, and funny, yet somehow it has managed to camp out in my brain as a ‘what the’ type book. Marmite indeed, but I do like marmite…

Thank you Anoushka Beazley & NeverlandBT.

Buy Links

Waterstones  //  Foyles // Amazon

Author Links

Giveaway!

10 signed copies of ‘The Good Enough Mother’ are up for grabs (10 individual winners). To be in with a chance of winning a copy, enter the giveaway HERE

One thought on “#BlogTour! #Review – The Good Enough Mother by @anoushkabeazley @neverlandBT

  1. I read an excerpt of The Good Enough Mother – it was only a couple of pages – but I was impressed by the richness of her writing. I adore the cover. And I wish her huge success.

    Like

Leave a Reply

