#Review of The Legacy of Lucy Harte by Emma Heatherington (@emmalou13) @harperimpulse

lh
Blurb.

‘Sometimes time is all we have with the people we love. I ask you to slow down in life. To take your time, but don’t waste it….’

Maggie O’Hara knows better than most that life can change in a heartbeat. Eighteen years ago she was given the most precious gift- a second-hand heart, and a second chance at life.

Always thankful, Maggie has never forgotten Lucy Harte – the little girl who saved her life. But as Maggie’s own life begins to fall apart, and her heart is broken in love, she loses sight of everything she has to live for…

Until an unexpected letter changes Maggie’s life.

It seems Lucy’s final gift to Maggie is much more than the heart that beats inside her. It’s a legacy that Maggie must learn to live by, a promise to live, laugh, fall in love and heal her broken heart for good.

Because as the keeper of a borrowed heart, Maggie’s time is more precious than most. She must make every cherished second count…

What does TWG think?

Lets think about something rather important for a moment; heart transplants (also known as a new lease of life). But is it? The clock was ticking for Maggie’s life; she either gets a new heart and lives, or the chances of her dying become incredibly high. The thing is, someone else has to die to give her the heart and Maggie can’t let that thought (and guilt), go. How could Maggie ever repay the family of the girl who gave Maggie a new heart?
People live by mantras; Maggie lives by Lucy Harte.

The simplicity of the cover peaked my interest the moment that I saw it. I skimmed the blurb but didn’t want to find out too much before I started reading, as I knew that this book would take hold of my mind in more ways than one. What I never accounted for was the emotion that poured from my eyes as the storyline progressed.

In ‘The Legacy of Lucy Harte’, we follow Maggie’s life and how she learns to live with the grief behind the most precious (and priceless) gift that she has ever received. I can’t begin to imagine what emotions a donor recipient will have, or the thoughts that cross their minds in the aftermath. You’ve just been given a new lease of life yet how can you be happy knowing that someone had to die to give you a second chance at living? Given the fact that I have never gone through a situation like that, or been involved indirectly, the questions that I had whilst reading this book were answered thanks to Emma’s portrayal of Maggie. Emma has taken an incredibly sensitive and emotionally charged situation, written about it in such a raw and poignant manner, whilst still approaching the entire thing with such a delicate nature. The author and the storyline literally blew my mind.

As I was reading the novel, the hairs on my arms stood to attention with goosebumps camping out there too. It was as though I was getting a bolt of emotion through my fingertips as I held the book and digested the incredibly moving story. I am in awe at Emma H’s mind-blowing writing. Wow.

It is safe to say that the ending of the book broke my heart. My entire mind-set and emotions were so invested in the storyline and the characters that when things started taking a turn, my heart began to hurt. In such a short space of time I had gotten to know such powerful characters yet in one large swoop, the storyline knocked me off my feet. I was heartbroken and sobbing my heart out. But you know what? I wouldn’t have wanted any other reaction. Considering the nature of the book, I wanted to feel the emotion behind the words that the author wrote and I did.

Emma Heatherington is definitely an author to watch for 2017. Her smooth, gritty (yet easy-going) style of writing is going to make for even more outstanding reads if ‘The Legacy of Lucy Harte’ is anything to go by.
Full of emotion, poignancy and incredible characters, ‘The Legacy of Lucy Harte’ will have you dissecting your own life and finding emotions you never knew you had. Mind blowing and brilliant…just make sure you keep tissues by your side (just in case).

Thank you Harper Impulse.

The Legacy of Lucy Harte by Emma Heatherington, published by HarperImpulse will be released in e-book on the 6th January 2017 with the paperback following on the 12th January 2017. Both formats are available to pre-order right now from Amazon UK

2 thoughts on “#Review of The Legacy of Lucy Harte by Emma Heatherington (@emmalou13) @harperimpulse

Leave a Reply

