#BlogTour! #Review of ‘Be My Baby’ by @ALMichael_ @HQDigitalUK @NeverlandBT #giveaway

bmb1

bmb
Blurb.

Two’s company…

If you asked Mollie whether she struggled as a single mum, she’d have to cover her daughter’s ears before answering. Surrounded by friends, watching Esme grow into the sassiest eleven-year-old in North London, and building her name as TV chef Mollie Makes, Mollie’s never been happier. Well, that’s what she’d tell you. But as her best friends pair off, and Esme starts getting into trouble at school, Mollie wonders whether life would be different – not better…but easier – with a team mate.

Three’s a crowd?

But Esme’s dad, Jamie, would be the last man Mollie would team up with. After all, he made it clear eleven years ago that he wasn’t interested in playing the family game. So when he suddenly reappears, Mollie can’t believe her eyes. And soon, she’s got to ask herself the hardest question yet: she knows she can succeed as a single mum. But what if her daughter doesn’t want her to?

What does TWG think?

BE MY, BE MY, BE MY LITTLE BABYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!
YAY! Finaaalllllyyyyy able to review this BEAUTY! It does feel a little bittersweet though. I mean, all three books are fabulous…but…’Be My Baby’ is the third and FINAL book in the House On Camden Square series! I cannot believe we are here already, it feels like yesterday when the series started with ‘Goodbye Ruby Tuesday’. I’ll be very sad to say goodbye to such a wonderful bunch of characters. My fingers are crossed that A.L.Michael gives in to my persistent nature and writes more! Here’s hoping!

‘Be My Baby’ focuses on Mollie and Esme’s relationship, as well as their everyday lives. Mollie has met her match in daughter Esme and she finds herself wondering what life would have been like if Esme’s father was in the picture, or if she had found love after Esme was born. Seeing as Mollie is a single mum and her daughter’s school life is about to be turned upside town, Mollie starts questioning how well she is actually coping…that is, until someone waltzes into her life; again.

As a single mummabear myself, I was able to relate to the storyline rather easily, and incredibly quickly. Well, I have a three year old instead of an eleven year old, but the concept is similar! It’s very clear that Mollie just wants to do right by her daughter, but no matter what she does, it never seems to be the right thing as someone will always be a bit miffed by her choices.
Personally, I felt as though the storyline attempted to rid single mums from the stigma that seems to surround them, especially when people assume it’s a chosen path. Sometimes it isn’t. A.L.Michael has taken such a complex situation and has written about it with such ease, determination and power. For that, I thank her.

In the previous books, Esme’s personality was on point even then, but oh my goodness!! This book in particular showcases her intelligence and sharp wit, I spent most of the book thinking ‘why didn’t I say that?!’. Absolutely brilliant, she has been such a consistent character and a wonderful one to watch grow up from a small witty person, to a witty person that will give adults a run for their money.

The last third of the book was a little bit tricky for me to read. Nothing against the A.L.Michael’s writing, but I found myself deeply involved with the situation and found it difficult to remove my own feelings from that. Jamie got on my nerves swooping in and acting like he had been there all along. Part of me did wish Mollie had a little more fire in her belly to take charge and stick to her guns. But, like I said, that is just my opinion and it is nothing against the writing or book. It does contain a topic that will get people talking so I am sure A.L.Michael knew that beforehand!

‘Be My Baby’ has got to be my absolute favourite book of all three due to its huggable, cosy feel and relatable circumstances. The humour throughout the book, as always, was on point and then some! My belly hurt from laughing so hard afterwards. Such an inspirational read full of gusto, beautiful relationships and a lot of love.
A.L.Michael has completely outdone herself with ‘Be My Baby’. Another stunning book from a very talented author. I cannot WAIT to see what comes next from A.L.Michael and her magical writing fingertips!

Thank you A.L.Michael & HQDigitalUK!

Buy ‘Be My Baby’ from Amazon UK.

Fancy being in with a chance of winning a goody bag which is inspired by one of the characters in the book? Of course you do! The giveaway will close on the 12th December and is UK ONLY! To be in with a chance all you need to do is:
ENTER THE GIVEAWAY! Good luck!

About A.L. Michael

A.L Michael is a writer and workshop leader from North London. She has a BA in Creative
Writing with English Lit, an MA in Creative Entrepreneurship and is starting an MsC in Creative Writing for Therapeutic Purposes. She likes learning and hates essays.
She’s a fan of cheap wine, expensive chocolate and still wants to be a secret agent when she grows up, but she’ll settle for lying on the page.

Links: Website | Twitter | Facebook

Leave a Reply

