TWG interviews June Taylor (@joonlt), author of ‘Losing Juliet’! @KillerReads #interview

I would like to say a HUGE welcome to June Taylor as she pops her TWG cherry! Also, a massive congratulations on the release of her novel, Losing Juliet, which was released yesterday (25th November 2016)! Today June answers a few of my questions; handy for getting to know her a little bit more! Take a look!

I’m very pleased to welcome Killer Reads author June Taylor, today’s Author in the Spotlight.  Her latest book, Losing Juliet, is published on 25th November, 2016 as an eBook.  Paperback on January 10th, 2017.  You can order a copy here

 

TWG – What inspired you to start writing?

Once I realised the power of my imagination, I was away! The discovery that I could do anything, be anyone, go absolutely anywhere, was quite a revelation.  And as I was a quiet child at school, growing up in the “should-be-seen-but-not-heard” generation, the written word became an outlet for me.  I had a brilliant English teacher as well.

TWG – Tell me about your journey to publication

I’ve been writing for many years.  I come from a scriptwriting background originally, creating short plays, radio, and then I had a full-length play produced.  In 2011, I was runner up in the Times/Chicken House Children’s Fiction Competition with a YA novel I’d always been meaning to write.  Three agents and several near misses later, I finally found my niche writing adult psychological thrillers.  I wrote the first draft of Losing Juliet five years ago.  After several drafts the deal finally came through with Killer Reads.  I’ve had a long apprenticeship but it’s all about becoming the best writer you can be in that time, not wasting opportunities along the way.  Even the best writers at the top of their game tell you it’s forever tough and that you can never stop learning.

TWG – In a nutshell, what is your latest book about?

Losing Juliet is a twisty psychological page turner about a friendship gone bad, inspired by a road trip I made in the late eighties to France.  There were so many What if? moments, I just knew there was a good story in there somewhere.  I love books which challenge you to think: What would I do in that situation? 

TWG – How did you come up with the title for your book?

In earlier drafts it had a different title, but HarperCollins weren’t keen.  So we had a brainstorming session, me and the Killer Reads team batting ideas back and forth.  They wanted to get the name Juliet in the title because it’s striking and memorable, but then we needed a word to go alongside it to capture the intrigue, danger and suspense of the story.  Losing Juliet was the favourite.  Titles are the hardest things! 

TWG – How will you celebrate publication day?

Hiding under the duvet probably! 

TWG – Do you have a work in progress just now?

Yes, I’m working on the next book.  I can’t say any more than that just yet as it’s in the early stages and I’m sworn to secrecy.  But it will be another psychological thriller/suspense. 

TWG – What’s your favourite book you’ve read in the past few months? Or favourite three if you really can’t choose!

I did enjoy Girl on the Train actually.  I felt it did live up to the hype.  It’s well written and feels different.  In a ridiculously crowded market you have to write a thriller which stands apart from the rest, with good plot, skilled writing, and this one nails it.  (I prefer the book to the film, before you ask!)   

TWG – What are you reading just now? (November 2016)

I’m reading Helen Cadbury’s Bones in the Nest.  I don’t instinctively lean towards crime fiction per se, as I’m down the other end of the genre – psychological thrillers/suspense being more my thing – but if one is recommended to me or catches my eye then I can get just as hooked.  Helen’s writing is pacey and filmic.  She comes from a scriptwriting background like myself. 

TWG – Tell me about your reading habits:  book or kindle, bed or bath, morning or evening?

Rather ironically, as Losing Juliet is initially an eBook, I prefer the magic of an actual book to an electronic version.  I still like to smell and turn the pages, flick back over them and savour the magic of holding an actual book in my hands.  However, when I’m on the move or going on holiday a kindle is brilliant.   

I’m generally a bedtime reader, but if I ever have to go anywhere I try to get the train so I can get stuck into a good book.  I’m a very slow reader.  I have been known to read in the bath, yes.  (Probably not kindle though!) 

TWG – How can people follow you or connect with you on social media?

Via Twitter @joonLT or my website: www.junetaylor.co.uk

Ooooo a secret W.I.P, I am intrigued! Many thanks to June for letting us get to know her a little bit more, and good luck with the work in progress!
Curious about ‘Losing Juliet’? Details below:

lj

You can’t escape the past…

Juliet and Chrissy were best friends until one fateful summer forced them apart. Now, nearly twenty years later, Juliet wants to be back in Chrissy’s life.

But Chrissy doesn’t want Juliet anywhere near her, or her teenage daughter Eloise. After all, Juliet is the only person who knows what happened that night – and her return threatens to destroy the life that Chrissy has so carefully built.

Because when the past is reawakened, it can prove difficult to bury. And soon all three of them will realize how dangerous it can get once the truth is out there

BUY NOW!

 

One thought on “TWG interviews June Taylor (@joonlt), author of ‘Losing Juliet’! @KillerReads #interview

Leave a Reply

