#Blogtour! While You Were Sleeping by Kathryn Croft (@KatCroft) @Bookouture #Review

kc1.jpg
TWG is one of two blogs that are rounding up Kathryn Croft’s blog tour today, for ‘While You Were Sleeping’, published by Bookouture! Sniff!! I am thrilled to be surrounded by such fabulous bloggers on the tour, thank you Bookouture for asking me to be involved! So, lets get on with the review shall we?!

kc
Blurb.

You wake up to find the man beside you is dead.  He is not your husband. This is not your bed.   Tara Logan adores her perfect little family: husband, Noah, and two children, teenager Rosie and eleven-year-old Spencer.   But her happiness is shattered when she wakes in her neighbour, Lee Jacobs’ bed, with no memory of how she got there or what happened between them. And worse – he has been stabbed to death.  Convinced she didn’t kill Lee, Tara flees home and stays silent, holding her breath as the investigation grips the neighbourhood. But as her daughter spirals out of control, and her husband becomes increasingly distant, Tara starts to wonder if someone in her own life knows what really happened that night. And when the police turn their questions towards her, Tara realises she has to find out.   But what will it take to uncover the real story, and can she survive the truth?

What does TWG think?

If anyone wants me I’ll be hiding under the duvet where its safe -trembles-. Wait, no I won’t…it’s not safe under there! Shout me when its safe to come out, okay?

Yes, I may sound like a wuss but when you usually read about couples having loving dovey moments between the sheets; reading a book where there is a dead man (between the sheets) can leave you checking your bed for ogres before you sleep! Well, it certainly did for me anyway! As soon as I finished reading the prologue, my arms were covered in goosebumps and my interest had reached its maximum level. I was intrigued yet slightly nervous for what I was about to uncover.

Tara has woken up to find a man in her bed, a man who isn’t her husband. Uh-oh. It gets worse as the man laying next to her is dead, and Tara has no idea how she got there let alone how HE got there. As for the death, who the hell did do it if Tara believes that it wasn’t her?

Such a twisty, rollercoaster of a read, I read the majority of the book with only one question in my mind; ‘whodunit?’. Characters behaviours seemed to change at the drop of the hat, yet it didn’t seem enough to pin the murder on them. I tried to work it out, but every time I believed to have found the answer and put the puzzle pieces together it seemed as though I was barking up the wrong tree.

Unfortunately, I did find the storyline a bit hard to gel with in some places as several situations had me thinking ‘hmm reallyyyy?’ and not quite relevant. However, the way Kathryn has written the suspense parts of the book is really clever. I felt like my head was getting messed with as I didn’t know who to believe! Every character seemed to have an ulterior motive but I couldn’t quite put my finger on exactly what that was.

‘While You Were Sleeping’ most definitely kept me on my toes and made me realise that I would never, ever make it as an investigator in cases like the one in the book! I’d be too indecisive, reading Kathryn’s book taught me that, that’s for sure!

An intense, highly gripping, head screwing of a read, ‘While You Were Sleeping’ will leave you questioning your own name. Great read!

Thank you Bookouture.

Buy: Amazon UK | Amazon US

Leave a Reply

