#BlogTour! @AccentPress author, Kristen Bailey (@baileyforce6) talks about comfort food!

kb2

Absolutely thrilled to be alongside the one and only ‘Souper Mum’, Kristen Bailey, for her blog tour. Look at all the fabulous bloggers that are on the tour bus too! Make sure you follow all of the bloggers on Twitter, as well as their blogs, to read fab and fun posts from Kristen Bailey herself!

On TWG today, Kristen is talking about comfort food! What is YOUR favourite comfort food?

Guest post by Kristen Bailey.

In my book, Souper Mum there is a recipe for fish finger pie that I often get asked about. I
don’t have an exact recipe for it but it was once made for me by a university friend who
emptied a pack of fish fingers into a baking dish, covered them in tomato soup and put the
concoction in the oven for about half an hour. He then topped it with cheese and shoved it
under the grill. Because we were students in halls, I remember we all ate it out of various
receptacles: mugs, cereal bowls. I ate mine out of an old lunchbox. Was it tasty? To be
honest, we were students so we ate anything. We thought a chicken tikka naan from Hot
Spot down the road was haute cuisine. I just remember it was the colour of highlighter pens and I mopped it up with a piece of cheap value white bread lavished in butter.

I really like how this is now immortalised in print, as to me these are the best sorts of recipes, the ones you’ve grown up with, that soothe the soul and create memories. They’re not fancy or restauranty, sometimes they’re merely two ingredients. In our house growing up, it was fried eggs and rice. My mum always cooked this on a Sunday evening when energy and will was lacking. She’d put a nob of butter on the rice, a little soy sauce. Now, it still remains my go-to perfect comfort food. Add a slice of fried Spam and you’ve got a piece of culinary perfection just there. Second on that list is Lorna Trotman’s trifle. Lorna Trotman is the grandmother of a family I used to work for as a nanny. Whilst under their employment, I ended a relationship with a then boyfriend and was pretty distraught. As I left that evening, Lorna stopped me at the door and handed me a whole trifle. I went home. I ate it all. It really was the best trifle I had ever eaten – so much so that I asked for the recipe. Now, when my soul is need of reparation, I make it and allow the custard and raspberries to work their magic.

But my favourite comfort food ever – it’s really simple. It’s toast. White buttered toast. Sometimes with Marmite, raspberry jam, smooth peanut butter or simply on its own. My Nana used to give it to us sprinkled with a bit of sugar if we were poorly. It can be the cheap stuff, cut fresh from a loaf, thick or thin but toast will always bring back lovely snuggly family memories…and probably my best memory ever, when my first son was born. It’s a very vivid memory for me; I was holding this new baby, completely in shock, delirious with fatigue and I remembered the midwife came in with a mug of sweet tea and four slices of white buttered toast. I remember devouring the lot – it was the tastiest darned thing I had eaten, ever.

Comfort foods like these feature a lot in Souper Mum and Second Helpings too. When we
hear about food nowadays, it’s all in relation to budgets, diets, super foods and preachy TV
chefs. I hope my books and my heroine, Jools Campbell help us remember that cooking for a family is also steeped in real life, it’s sometimes a bloody bind but it’s all about recipes and traditions that build memories and families. So, in a week of weird election results, my kettle breaking and my husband away on business, I am putting my hands up tonight and telling the world I’m making fish fingers for dinner. When the children are in bed, I’ll polish off a tub of custard. We are what we eat and tonight, I will be happy. Jools Campbell would be proud.

LOVE this! As for the ‘after birth toast’, I got told before I had my daughter how that particular toast would be the best toast that I would ever eat. I thought ‘how ridiculous’, it’s just toast. How could toast from a hospital be the best toast ever? Well, lets just say that I ate my words…and the toast! Unbelievably scrumptious! Thank you Kristen for the fabulous post! Please do let us know your favourite comfort foods in the comments!

Book Blurbs

Souper Mum

kb1

Souper Mum is the story of Jools Campbell, a stay-at- home mother of four, who becomes
an unlikely foodie hero when she stands up to a pompous celebrity chef, Tommy McCoy
on a reality show. Armed with fish fingers and a severely limited cooking repertoire, we
watch as she becomes a reluctant celebrity and learns some important life lessons about
love, family and the joyless merits of quinoa.

Second Helpings

kb

Exactly eighteen months after squaring up to a pompous TV chef, Jools Campbell finds
herself back in the fame game as she becomes a judge on a family cooking show. How
will she cope being back in the limelight, juggling being a working mum? What happens
when she finds out her old nemesis, Tommy McCoy is her fellow judge? The knives are
sure to fly as ‘Souper Mum’ makes her triumphant return.

Buy Links –
Buy Souper Mum | Buy Second Helpings

kb3

About the Author

Mother-of- four, gin-drinker, binge-watcher, receipt hoarder, hapless dog owner,
enthusiastic but terrible cook. Kristen lives in Fleet, Hampshire in a house overrun by
Lego and odd socks. Her debut novel, Souper Mum was released by Accent Press in June
and its sequel, Second Helpings was released on 17th November.

She writes a blog about being a modern mother. That and more can be found at:
You can also find her on Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

3 thoughts on “#BlogTour! @AccentPress author, Kristen Bailey (@baileyforce6) talks about comfort food!

Leave a Reply

