#Review! A Year and a Day by Isabelle Broom (@Isabelle_Broom) @MichaelJBooks

ib

Blurb.

Welcome to a city where wishes are everywhere

For Megan, a winter escape to Prague with her friend Ollie is a chance to find some inspiration for her upcoming photography exhibition. But she’s determined to keep their friendship from becoming anything more. Because if Megan lets Ollie find out about her past, she risks losing everything – and she won’t let that happen again . . .

For Hope, the trip is a surprise treat from Charlie, her new partner. But she’s struggling to enjoy the beauty of the city when she knows how angry her daughter is back home. And that it’s all her fault . . .

For Sophie, the city has always been a magical place. This time she can’t stop counting down the moments until her boyfriend Robin joins her. But in historic Prague you can never escape the past . . .

What does TWG think?

Ollie is a teacher and he has asked his photography minded friend, Megan, to accompany him on a trip to Prague. It’s a win-win situation really, Ollie wants to take historical findings back to his students, and Megan gets to take photographs for her upcoming exhibition. The thing is, despite Megan and Ollie being really good friends, Megan is unable to let her guard down and shed light on what has been eating her up inside for many years. On their trip they end up getting involved with three other people and their lives. Little do Megan and Ollie know, how involved that they will end up becoming in those strangers lives..

Oh my goodness..what a book! The first third of the book seems to be focused on Megan and Ollie’s lives before switching between the other characters in the story. Everything in the story at that moment felt calm, light, enjoyable and just going with the flow, little did I know what was ahead.

I rather enjoyed taking a little holiday in Prague, via the book. I have never ventured outside of the UK so to read a book set in a different country, which was written so beautifully, made me feel as though I was right there, soaking up the history and phenomenal views. Even though I haven’t seen the city for myself, I did feel as though Isabelle’s description of the city was extremely detailed, vivid and undeniably…stunning. She captured by heart from the very moment I ‘stepped’ off of the plane.

As I became more invested in the storyline, I noticed how intense it became, ever so quickly. The characters became even stronger, the storyline became bolder and I no longer plodded along with the book. Not in a bad way either. I couldn’t do anything else except focus on the book; even my galaxy chocolate wasn’t grabbing my attention as I continued to read. I was utterly mesmerised.

The mood turned sombre, my emotions were on high alert; yet I had absolutely no idea what the overall outcome of the storyline would be. I had a few guesses along the way, but I wasn’t a hundred percent sure. All I knew was that the book wouldn’t be leaving my hands until the very end.

Ever felt as though your heart was going to beat out of your chest? Ever felt so anxious about a situation, but you were far too involved to let go? Ever read a storyline where everything was transferred to your mind in slow motion, as if you were in the moment with the other characters? I’ll admit, I hadn’t had all of the above happen to me whilst reading one book…until now. ‘A Year and a Day’ made me feel that way, and more.

The entire book took me on an emotional journey to the historic city of Prague. I started the book completely unaware, with no expectations and in my own world. I ended the book with tears rolling down my cheeks.

‘A Year and a Day’ is such a beautiful, intense and highly charged storyline which highlights the true meaning of love and loss. A truly magnificent, breath-taking read which has left its marks deep within my soul. One of my top books for 2016 by miles.

Thank you Netgalley & MJ!

A Year and a Day by Isabelle Broom, published by MichaelJBooks, is available to buy from TODAY (17th November 2016) from Amazon

3 thoughts on “#Review! A Year and a Day by Isabelle Broom (@Isabelle_Broom) @MichaelJBooks

  1. Pingback: TWG’s Top 24 Books of 2016! @Bookouture @headlinepg @HQStories @canelo_co @littlebrownuk &more | The Writing Garnet

Leave a Reply

