#Tour! It’s Not You, It’s Them by @PortiaMacIntosh @LoveReadRomance @HQDigitalUK

its-not-you-tour-banner

Oh Em Geeee!!!! It’s that time again -bounces-, another book from the oh so fabulous Portia MacIntosh!! I am absolutely thrilled, and super excited to be todays stop on the tour for such a wonderful lady’s new release; ‘Its Not You, It’s Them’! Review and excerpt anyone? Silly question eh!

its-not-you-its-them-cover
Blurb.

First comes love. Then comes family…

After a lifetime of kissing frogs, Roxie Pratt has given up on finding her own fairytale romance. That is, until she meets her very own Prince Charming, Mark Wright, and he sweeps Roxie off her feet!
So when Mark finally gets down on one knee and pops the question, there’s only one thing left to do: meet the family! And when everything has been picture-perfect so far, what could possibly go wrong…?

What does TWG think?

Wow! I thought that Portia had set the bar high with her previous book, ‘Truth Or Date’! I was rather apprehensive (yet very excited) about Portia’s newest book because I loved her previous one so much, I was hoping this one would be similar in writing style and wouldn’t disappoint. SQUEAL! It was similar yet even better than her previous book! I didn’t even think that was possible (it was fab fyi).

Roxie has met her Prince Charming, her one and only, the man of her dreams (you catch my drift) with Mark Wright. Where Roxie is concerned, he most certainly lives up to his last name (even though I’m sure a lot of you will be thinking TOWIE!). The happy couple is living in their own loved up bubble and are pretty certain that nothing will come along to burst their bubble. Well, certainty isn’t guaranteed really is it? Especially when the time has come…to push the button….of her boyfriends parents house! Dun dun dunnnnnnnn!!!

I snlaughed by the end of the first page, no joke. I am however, starting to wonder what goes through Portia’s mind given the fact she can reduce someone to tears of laughter in a few sentences. Genius.

Roxie and Mark’s relationship is fuelled by their love of Ann Summers…and some, as well as being super lovey dovey. I honestly thought that I would find it too sickly sweet, but Portia’s incredible one liners ensured that I wasn’t shouting at the book to ‘get a room!’. I did feel quite sorry for Roxie many times throughout the book due to the way that she was being treated, but then Portia being Portia, ended up making me laugh whilst Roxie was feeling sad! I’m not mean, honestly! It was just incredibly hard NOT to laugh during this book as every single thing was followed by hints of sarcasm or the odd innuendo. Despite that, the book was an honest representation of what meeting the parents can be like, from a female point of view.

I am actually laughing right now as I write this! When the storyline concentrates on the events with Mark’s family, actions spoke far louder than words and Mark’s family seemed to be making a name for themselves. An unpleasant name. Don’t get me wrong, they weren’t evil, they were just damn right rude, especially when Mark played into their hands! The way that Roxie handled herself in those particular situations spoke volumes. She was just being herself yet showing the readers that things like that do actually happen when you go and meet the parents. Well, not all of the antics that Roxie engaged in, I’m sure..

I had no idea whether Mark and Roxie’s relationship would stand the test of time, especially given the fact that Roxie felt like seducing her boyfriend in his parents house, multiple times! Absolutely hilarious, cringey and just….hilarious. Disturbing too, but as I said above, I wonder what goes through the author’s head! Oh to be able to mind read!! It is quite possible that many readers may be able to pick up some tips from this book! If you do, please don’t tell me about them haha!

Portia writes such brilliant, engaging and truly hilarious novels, I never want them to end once I start reading. ‘It’s Not You, It’s Them’ has got to be my favourite book Ms.MacIntosh has written because of the genius one liners, fabulous storyline and on point situations. Honestly. I absolutely LOVED reading this book, everything was perfect. My sort of book from start to finish, Portia MacIntosh has delivered yet again, if she doesn’t get an award for this and her humour I will be stunned. It’s Not You, It’s Them has found its way into my Top 5 books of all time and I cannot recommend this book enough. You HAVE to read it.

Thank you LRR, Portia and HQ!

Book Links: Amazon | Amazon UK | B&N | Google Play | Goodreads

Author Info:
Portia MacIntosh has been ‘making stuff up’ for as long as she can remember – or so she says. Whether it was blaming her siblings for that broken vase when she was growing up, blagging her way backstage during her rock chick phase or, most recently, whatever justification she can fabricate to explain away those lunchtime cocktails, Portia just loves telling tales. After years working as a music journalist, Portia decided it was time to use her powers for good and started writing novels. Taking inspiration from her experiences on tour with bands, the real struggle of dating in your twenties and just trying to survive as an adult human female generally, Portia writes about what it’s really like for women who don’t find this life stuff as easy as it seems.

Author Links: Website | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads
Tour Link

Extract of ‘It’s Not You, It’s Them’ by Portia MacIntosh.

‘God, I’m bored,’ I whine, like a petulant child. ‘I hate long car journeys.’
Mark laughs. ‘We’re five minutes from home, Roxie,’ he reminds me. ‘And fifteen minutes from your parents’ house. Still nervous?’
‘Still nervous,’ I reply.
It just feels so strange to be meeting the parents after getting engaged, like we’re doing things in the wrong order.
‘They’ll love you,’ Mark tells me for the millionth time. ‘It’s a long journey; you can’t spend it worrying.’
‘I know, I know. At least we’re making a stop to see my parents, then we can get a nice, warm coffee in us. It’s freezing!’
‘Oh, no, I know how this goes,’ Mark laughs. ‘You’ll drink too much, and we’ll have to stop so you can use the loo every ten miles…’
‘Oi,’ I laugh. ‘I’m a grown-ass woman. I’ll be thirty next year. I’m fully in control of my bladder, thank you.’

I shudder a little, at the thought of turning thirty. ‘Next year’ makes it sound like it’s a long way away, but it’s December now, and my birthday is in February. Mark doesn’t think it’s a big deal – he’s thirty-two, and assures me that nothing changes when you hit the big 3-0. He’s promised me that my face won’t instantly wrinkle, that I won’t become boring overnight, and that I won’t suddenly be turned away from night clubs for looking too old. While I fear that, as I grow older, things are only going to go downhill for me looks-wise, Mark only gets better with age. Mark is the very definition of tall, dark and handsome, and even though a few grey hairs are starting to creep in on the sides of his head – my God – it looks so sexy. My newly cut blonde lob might have a few greys in there, maybe, but I wouldn’t know because I have my hair routinely highlighted. If I did have grey hair showing, though, it would not look good. On Mark it looks hot and this is beyond unfair. Like he’s not already out of my league; as we grow older, the fact we’re in different leagues is only going to seem more obvious. Can’t wait for the day he’s walking around all George Clooney and I’m looking like Mrs Doubtfire.
Leave a Reply

