Guest Post & Giveaway courtesy of author Jo Lambert (@JoLambertwriter) @BrookCottagebks

jlw

Thrilled to be the stop on Jo Lambert’s blog tour today for Watercolours in the Rain! I am hosting a guest post from Jo where she talks about book covers and the importance of them! Not only that, there is also a fantastic giveaway too! Enjoy!

A COVER SPEAKS A THOUSAND WORDS – GETTING THE BOOK COVER RIGHT…

You’ve completed your book. It’s been edited and polished until it’s the best it can be. And now it’s all about the cover. In 2009 when I completed my first book When Tomorrow Comes I self-published with a company who organised the cover but gave me the freedom to choose my own design. Of course it was basic stuff, one photo to which they added the title and my name plus blurb and ISBN number on the back. The covers for my next two books were designed in the same way. It was only when I met up with a fellow author for lunch that the issue of branding was raised: creating covers whose style and format would instantly identify the books as mine. My colleague suggested I contact Jane Dixon Smith who had worked on her covers. Jane, I was to discover is a multi-talented individual who is not only a designer but a writer as well.

Before I contacted her I spent time thinking about how I wanted what was now a trilogy, to look. I liked the idea of having one of the main characters on each of the covers. With this in mind I contacted her and although we were several hundred miles apart, everything went so smoothly it was if we were in the same room discussing options. She gave me some website addresses for royalty free images and I sent her samples of what I thought would work. The result was three covers which not only completely changed the look of my books but gave them a connection to me. Two covers for sequels followed. One – Between Today and Yesterday – became my favourite cover of all time. I absolutely loved the photo but it was black and white. I was about to dismiss it as a non-contender but Jane explained she could add colour. She did and this

amazingly atmospheric cover was born.

The five books became my Little Court Series, set in West Somerset. Once I felt the stories had run their course, I moved over the border into Devon for my next book. On this occasion I decided new project , new designer. I wanted this book (or as it turned out, two books) to look slightly different. This time I chose my good friend designer Cathy Helms, who lives in the States, to design the cover for Summer Moved On. I trawled the royalty free photo sites and came up with the picture of the girl holding the poppy and the result was exactly what I wanted. My new novel, Watercolours in the Rain, saw me returning to Jane and her design beautifully mirrored Cathy’s for this, the sequel.

So what are my thoughts on covers? Well as far as I’m concerned, they are every bit as important as the book itself. They are the shop window for your work, the advertisement that says to readers ‘Come in, take a look.’ Of course if you are with a publisher you will automatically have a support team behind you for this. However, speaking as an indie author, I feel as it takes a whole lot of hard work to produce a book, why cut corners? Cover designers are a fraction of the cost of a good editor. You’ve spent money on getting the contents professionally polished, why skimp on something as important as the cover? And believe me, there’s a great deal of difference between DIY and using a professional.

In a very competitive market if you hope to sell (which is what all that hard work and burning the midnight oil has been about) your book needs to be given the best chance to succeed, doesn’t it?

I think a lot of us will be agreeing with Jo’s thoughts on book covers, I know that I agree with them. I do get enticed by a book based on the cover, they are so important! And Jo, your cover is beautiful!

How do you fancy a chance of winning some prizes?

The 1st prize is this beautiful necklace!
jlw2Please note this prize is for UK residents only.

The 2nd prize is 2 e-book copies of Jo’s book, and it is also open internationally too!

If you fancy either of those prizes, click on the following link to get yourself in with a chance! Good luck!
Enter the giveaway!

jlw1

Blurb.

What happens to the future when past and present collide?

JESS: Six years ago Jess’s relationship with Talún Hansen was torn apart by one
night of deception. He disappeared from Lynbrook village and she headed for
university vowing never to let anyone break her heart again. Now a teacher, Jess
returns from holiday to an unexpected phone call and life changing news which will
eventually bring her back home once more.

TALUN: Six years on Talún Hawkeswood, as he is now known, is heir to his
grandfather’s Norfolk farming empire. When he hears of trouble in the village due to
Lynbrook Hall being put up for sale, going back is the last thing on his mind. But
staying away is not an option either, not when someone he owes so much to is about
to lose their home and their livelihood.

LILY: Splitting with her husband after her son Josh’s birth, Lily now works as part of
an estate agency sales team.  She has always held onto her dream of finding a wealthy
husband and a life of self-indulgence. When the sale of an important property brings
her face to face with Talún once more, she realises despite the risks involved, the
night they spent together six years ago may be the key to making those dreams come
true.

As Jess, Talún and Lily return to Lynbrook and the truth about what happened that
summer is gradually revealed, Talun finds himself in an impossible situation. Still in
love with Jess he is tied into to a trade off with Lily: his name and the lifestyle she
craves in exchange for his son. And when a child is involved there is only one choice
he can make…

Buy the book.

Amazon UK
Amazon US

About the author.

Born and raised in rural Wiltshire, Jo Lambert grew up with a love of books and a vivid imagination. As a child she enjoyed creating her own adventure stories similar to Enid Blyton’s Famous Five. Writing always stayed with her, but college, work and eventually marriage found it was kept very much in the background. However in 2009 she finally had her first novel – When Tomorrow Comes – published. Three other connected books – Love Lies and Promises, The Ghost of You and Me and Between Today and Yesterday followed. They became collectively known as the Little Court Series.

In 2013 she decided to give up full time work to concentrate fully on her writing. Two other books have been written since – The Other Side of Morning which is the final book of the Little Court Series and Summer Moved On, a love story set in South Devon. Jo is about to publish, Watercolours in the Rain, and plans to begin work on her new book in early November 2016. She describes her writing style as drama driven romance. Jo is married and lives in a village on the eastern edge of Bath with her husband, one small grey feline called Mollie and a green MGB GT. She loves travel, red wine, rock music and has a passion


3 thoughts on “Guest Post & Giveaway courtesy of author Jo Lambert (@JoLambertwriter) @BrookCottagebks

  1. I agree on importance of covers as an Indie, also with a trilogy under my belt – branding and book linkage are vital. I love both your title and cover design, they both really want me to reach out for the blurb – what makes me press that purchase button.

    Like

Leave a Reply

