#Review! Perfect Mishap by Aimee Horton(@AimeeHorton) @V_Mpress

ah
Blurb.

When Dottie and her husband move to a tiny village, she’s excited to make new friends. But when the neighbours uncover a scandalous incident, all fingers point to Dottie… Can she clear her name before her reputation is permanently ruined?

In this humorous blend of chick lit and cozy mystery, you’ll be laughing right along with gin-drinking amateur sleuth Dottie. A delightfully funny romp!

What does TWG think?

I am rather angry with myself right now! ‘Perfect Mishap’ got revamped not so long ago (was previously titled Mothers Ruined), and I know that because I was one of the bloggers to reveal the brand new covers and titles. Bear in mind that that was a couple of months ago and I have only just gotten round to reading the first book in the Disaster Series. I mean, what the actual vodka martini! After stalking, sorry, following,  Aimee over on Twitter and Facebook since the reveal, I have learnt that she is indeed, HILARIOUS. Her status updates and posts are so real and relatable that they make a kid covered in sudocreme come across like an artist that needs a bath. If you don’t follow her, you need to.

Okay, back to the book. Due to the fact that I was well aware of her hilarity (and favouritism towards gin) well before I read the book, I kept my fingers crossed that she had put her humour into the story.

She did! I wasn’t expecting to snort like a pig whilst also laughing like a seal….two sentences in. I mean really, either I’m easily amused or she’s absolutely hilarious. I’m going to say both! I LOVED meeting Dottie! She even lives up to her name with her actions as well as having such a big heart. It is quite clear that Dottie’s everyday life is based on everyday people, and not the people who spend more time in Hollywood than in Parenthood (just a guess). I found that quite refreshing and I’ll be honest, I would have loved to find this book before I had had my little girl; One Born Every Minute has nothing on Dottie!

Every scenario, emotion and baby moment will no doubt have A LOT of readers nodding their heads to. Nothing in the book is sugar coated, it’s relatable and Aimee shows that its okay to look like you’ve been dragged through a hedge backwards after having a baby. That it’s okay to do things differently to anyone else. More importantly, Aimee shows that its okay to be YOU and laugh about things when they aren’t going how you thought they would (within reason).

‘Perfect Mishap’ is such a refreshing and hilarious read, I may even go as far to say that it’s like confidence in a book. Even when the storyline took an unexpected turn, it didn’t lose any of its flow or credibility. I thoroughly enjoyed every moment of this book, it is GENIUS! I cannot wait to get stuck into the next book in the series!

Perfect Mishap by Aimee Horton, published by Velvet Morning Press, is available to buy now from Amazon UK

Leave a Reply

