Blog Tour! Shadow Of The Beast by Michael Fowler (@MichaelFowler1) @caffeinenights

mf
Blurb.

The discovery of a skeleton buried beneath the altar of an old chapel should not have raised an eyebrow, but this one was different. This one had been savagely murdered, and all the evidence points to the blood-thirsty killer the press have dubbed ‘The Beast of Barnwell’; a killer who has already served time for the brutal murder of a young girl and is now free.

            Is this his handiwork?

            In the midst of the enquiry, a 22 year old woman is abducted on her way home from work. Is there a link?

            To add to Hunter’s workload his former boss, Michael Robshaw, is deliberately mown down and left for dead.

            Why?

            In his search for the truth Hunter returns to his undercover roots – with deadly consequences.

What does TWG think?

I like to go out of my comfort zone sometimes when I’m choosing books to read. ‘Shadow of the Beast’ is most definitely a book that is completely different to the types of books that I usually read. I like to try different genres and different authors to test my mind and keep me on my toes. So, when I was approached to be a part of this tour, I put on my big girl panties and stopped being a wuss.

Well, I tried to stop being a wuss. The investigations that went on in the book were written with such realism, I had to keep double checking that I was in my house and not the one doing the investigating! Due to the fact that I am not so used to reading novels with copious amounts of goosebump moments, I did struggle to keep up with the investigating, enquiries and hidden agendas. That is nothing against the author or the book, but I’ll admit, it probably didn’t help that I spent most of the time reading, hidden behind my dressing gown. Like that was going to save me from the ‘Beast’!!

The way that Michael Fowler wrote the complex events unnerved me, especially as I wouldn’t want to get on the wrong side of him. That man sure knows how to write and he really knows his stuff when it comes to crime, I’m really curious about the other books that he has written now. Even though I’m a huge wuss.

The complex storyline mixed in with such powerful description of events has definitely made me remember Michael’s work. Whilst it isn’t the sort of book I will pick up at night time, I am very glad that I went out of my comfort zone and read Michael’s book. It gave me the heeby jeebies something chronic, but his writing is brilliant, and that’s coming from a wuss!

I received a complimentary copy of the book in return for my honest views.

Shadow of the Beast by Michael Fowler, published by Caffeine Nights, will be released on the 6th October. You can pre-order your copy now from Amazon UK.

About the author.

mf1Michael Fowler was born and brought up in the Dearne Valley area of Yorkshire where he

still lives with his wife.
At the age of 16 he left school with the ambition of going to art college but his parents’
financial circumstances meant he had to find work and so he joined the police.
He has never regretted that decision, serving as a police officer for thirty-two years, both in
uniform and in plain clothes, working in CID, and undercover in Vice Squad and Drug
Squad, retiring as an Inspector in charge of a busy CID in 2006.
Since leaving Michael has embarked on two careers: he is an established author with two
crime series to his name: DS Hunter Kerr and DS Scarlett Macey, and he has also co-written
a true crime story.
He is a member of the Crime Writers Association and International Thriller Writers.
Michael has also found considerable success as an artist, receiving numerous artistic
accolades. Currently his work can be found in the galleries of Spencer Coleman Fine Arts at
Lincoln and Stamford.

Find out more at www.mjfowler.co.uk
or follow him on Twitter @MichaelFowler1.

 

One thought on “Blog Tour! Shadow Of The Beast by Michael Fowler (@MichaelFowler1) @caffeinenights

Leave a Reply

