Review! The Singalong Society for Singletons by Katey Lovell (@Katey5678) @HarperImpulse

kl
Blurb.

A charming, feel good novel about the healing powers of friendship…and Frozen!

Monique and Issy are teachers, housemates and lovers of musicals! Their Friday night routine consists of snacks, wine and the Frozen DVD. So when Monique’s boyfriend moves to America for a year and her sister Hope moves in because of her own relationship woes, Friday nights get a new name… ‘The Singalong Society for Singletons’!

It’s a chance to get together, sing along to their favourite tracks from the best-loved West End shows, and forget the worries of work, relationships and love (or lack of it). But when Issy shares the details of their little group further afield, they get some unexpected new members who might just change their opinions on singledom for good….

What does TWG think?

I LOVE the title of this book! As soon as I saw it I just knew that it had to be fun. I mean, who doesn’t like having a sing-song? No, I don’t mean a ‘I’m a Barbie girl, in a Barbie world. Life in plastic, it’s fantastic’ type of sing song. Don’t be hiding your face, I know you’ve done it! I’m talking about musical singalongs, and all that jazz, you know, the ones that taught ‘Frozen’ how to do it properly! Although, I’m sure ‘Frozen’ is ‘through with playing by the rules of someone else’s game’, wouldn’t you agree?

I wasn’t quite sure where the storyline was heading at first as I couldn’t connect the circumstance to the bare necessities of the book. However, I stopped rouging my knees and learnt a little patience because sure enough, the penny dropped and the curtain lifted for the magical, musical moments.

You know, this is going to sound quite daft, I wished that I was part of the singalong society because of the fun and acceptance that oozed from the group. The characters were such a mixed bunch, each one having a different personality trait to the others in the group, yet they were such good friends. It was lovely to read about a group of people who wanted to be around each other without worrying about their own insecurities. Their Friday night idea was absolutely genius, no doubt all of the group members felt honoured that they were all in this together. You might even find yourself singing along to a few of the best-loved musical numbers that are featured in the book! I know I did!

The overall storyline wasn’t a strenuous one to read in terms of drama and heartbreak, but I am quite glad that it wasn’t like that as it felt as though  I was reading about a whole new world. I don’t think it would have fit with the theme of the book. There were a couple of times when situations took me by surprise as they were totally unexpected. In all honesty, it gave a few of the characters an edge to them in a good way.

I adored how Katey’s writing made me feel like I was 16 going on 17! I became rather eager to see which musical the gang were going to watch and sing along to, it gave me such a buzz. The Singalong Society for Singletons is definitely my sort of book, as it has the feel good factor down to a T, I didn’t want anyone to rain on my parade whilst I was reading it. The storyline grabbed my attention with both hands, and I was absolutely mesmorised by the musical energy that came from Katey’s words. That lady definitely knows how to write!

Such a fun, feel good and energetic book, I most certainly had the time of my life reading it! I am positive that this tale could be as old as time if loved by the readers! The only thing I have left to say is ‘please sir, can I have some more?’. Brilliant read!

I received a complimentary copy of the book in return for my honest opinion.

The Singalong Society for Singletons by Katey Lovell, published by HarperImpulse, will be available to buy in kindle format on the 7th October. You can pre-order your copy right now from Amazon UK. However, if you prefer paperback, you can get your hands on one when it’s released 15th December.

One thought on “Review! The Singalong Society for Singletons by Katey Lovell (@Katey5678) @HarperImpulse

Leave a Reply

