It’s publication day for Lisa Dickenson(@LisaWritesStuff) & ‘Mistletoe on 34th Street’!#Review

ld
Blurb.

‘A perfect Christmas treat’ Miranda Dickinson

A sparklingly festive and romantic story set in New York at Christmastime, Mistletoe on 34th Street is readers’ favourite Lisa Dickenson at her side-splitting, funniest best! Perfect for fans of Giovanna Fletcher and Claudia Carroll.

Olivia has never experienced a snow-covered, ‘traditional’ Christmas before. Having grown up in a family that chose winter sun over decking the halls, she’s not sure what all the fuss is about. So when she and her colleagues are stranded in New York after a work trip, Olivia is perfectly happy spending the holiday season in the Big Apple.

Jon, Olivia’s friend, on the other hand is desperate to get home in time for his big family get-together. Nevertheless, determined to make the best out of the situation, he sets out to show Olivia how enchanting Christmas in New York can be. And when handsome New Yorker Elijah is added to the mix, could the magic of the season finally be working its charm on Olivia? As 25 December draws closer, Olivia suddenly finds herself with a decision to make: who does she really want to kiss under the mistletoe this Christmas?

What does TWG think?

The first time that this book caught my eye, was over on Instagram believe it or not. Casually scrolling through my InstaFeed one day, getting hungrier by the minute by all of the photos of InstaFood, when it happened. I spotted this book on Lisa’s Instagram! I was drawn to the cover just like Susan from Miracle on 34th Street was drawn to the light from her mothers ring! (Yes, I did just do that!).

Seeing as the cover is very, very Christmassy, imagine my surprise when I find out that one of the characters isn’t really fussed about the festive season. I say not fussed, Olivia really isn’t fussed, but that is all she knows. She hasn’t experienced jumping on her parent(s) bed at stupid o’clock in the morning, pulling them downstairs to see if Santa has been. So how can you really enjoy something that you haven’t really had much experience of?
But oh ho ho ho, that’s going to change hopefully! Everyone needs the magic of Christmas! Olivia has to jet off to New York for work, counting down the days until she can return home, lay on the sofa in her pjs and sleep. How will she survive amongst the razzle and dazzle of New York at Christmas?

Having only ever experienced an English Christmas so to speak (not that I’m complaining), it was AH-MAZ-ING to be able to ‘see’ Christmas in New York, thanks to Lisa’s wonderful words. The festive magic oozed out of the story with such incredible force, I forgot that it was only September (when I read it) and not December. I was absolutely captivated by the entire storyline and didn’t want it to end at all. I warmed to Olivia and Jon straight away because of their humour and big hearts, and, funnily enough, I didn’t actually dislike any of the characters either! Well, until further on in the book. Read it, you’ll see what I mean.

I absolutely loved the fact that there was ALWAYS something going on in the storyline, whether it was from a character point of few, or a situation. It kept me guessing, it kept me laughing, and most of all, it kept me wanting more. Lisa’s natural hilarity shines through from start to finish, completely unforced. It actually left me having to put my kindle down as I was laughing so much.

There is something so very special about this book and  I can’t put my finger on exactly what it is. All I know is that it made me feel young again, reliving the true magic of Christmas and appreciating every little detail about the festive season. Magical, just, magical.

Once I had finished reading ‘Mistletoe on 34th Street’, I just wanted to hug Lisa for writing such a soul grabbing book. Yes, it was full of hilarious moments, innuendos and plenty of tinsel. But, it was also full of magic, love, finding your inner elf and knowing that its okay to lay on the ground and make snow angels in your thirties, or kiss under the mistletoe wherever you are. Ideally on 34th street though, yeah?

Lisa Dickenson, you are truly magnificent with your words, thank you for making me feel young again and for writing a book that has become my favourite Christmas book of all time.

I received a copy of the book in return for my honest views.

Mistletoe on 34th Street by Lisa Dickenson, published by Little Brown Books UK, is available to buy for your kindle right now from Amazon UK & Amazon US. Don’t fret though, if you prefer paperback copies, or just want to buy it because it is beautiful, you can get your hands on one from the 3rd November 2016. Secure your copy by pre-ordering it right here!

One thought on “It’s publication day for Lisa Dickenson(@LisaWritesStuff) & ‘Mistletoe on 34th Street’!#Review

  1. Pingback: TWG’s Top 24 Books of 2016! @Bookouture @headlinepg @HQStories @canelo_co @littlebrownuk &more | The Writing Garnet

Leave a Reply

