#Review: The Honey Trap by Mary Jayne Baker (@MaryJayneBaker) @HarperImpulse

ht
Blurb.

The trap is set – but which one of them is the bait?

Journalist Angel Blackthorne is looking for her next big scoop. When her sleazy editor asks her to use her charms on super successful – and married – film director Sebastian Wilchester for a juicy exposé, Angel thinks what the hell? There’s a staff job on the horizon, and, let’s be honest, no one can make a cheater cheat if they don’t want to, right?

After the scandal breaks, Angel tries to put the story – and Seb – behind her, but fate seems to have other ideas. A near miss at a premiere after-party and a shared love of vintage film brings the honey closer to the trap.

But what happens when pretence leads to passion, and a ‘kiss and tell’ becomes something real?

What does TWG think?

Firstly, I would like apologise to Mary Jayne for only getting round to posting my review now, I’m sorry! Hopefully you’ll forgive me once you’ve read my review!

If you’re unfamiliar to the term ‘honey trap’ or unaware of what it entails, do not google it. Instead, turn off your phone, put your feet up and ensure you have copious amounts of chocolate as you’ll be finding out what a honey trap is and some. Make sure you’re in a well ventilated room too whilst reading, as this book gets pretty steamy and seeing as you will not be able to put it down once you begin, you’d better get comfortable.
Oh and FYI, I’m speaking from experience. Mary Jayne Baker’s ‘The Honey Trap’, honey trapped my backside to the sofa and it only let me leave when I had finished reading!

How far would you go, to ‘secure’ a permanent job position? Work extra late? Take on more work? Run around sucking up to all the managers? Or, would you honey trap a rather successful film director that may, oh I don’t know..be married? Angel Blackthorne clearly wanted the job so honey trap she did! Oh dear, thought that was bad? Keep an eye out for Angel’s editor, just saying.

Oh my GOSH, have I just stepped into a sauna? Someone fan me now as this book is HAWT, HAWT, HAWT! ‘The Honey Trap’ is such an indulgent, steamfest from start to finish, I was hooked. I couldn’t peal my eyes away from the book even if I had wanted to (I didn’t want to). Despite the high levels of hotness, it was quite clear from the onset that it was all going to go tits up (excuse the pun). I mean, as much as I would like to say that the trapping part of the book was the most knuckle tapping, other parts of the storyline shocked me more!

Mary Jayne Baker sure knows how to keep your attention with her writing. Steam, lust, handsome male AND enough drama to give The Only Way Is Essex a run for its money, why would your eyes be anywhere else! The storyline was full of all the raunchy subjects that are always seen as taboo, yet it was written brilliantly. It definitely made me think about circumstances that I wouldn’t usually think about, and the aftermath of those decisions. That said, I didn’t think of the book as an eye opener in terms of the ‘serious’, underlying content. It was more of a ‘there is more to this world that meets the eye’, sort of eye opener. Basically, it put angels and devils against each other and the devils won by miles!

The humour within the book is on point, absolutely hilarious and timed to perfection;  Mary Jayne Baker definitely kept me on my toes in more ways than one. An absolutely brilliant read, outstanding!
It should come with a warning though: ‘Too hot to handle’!

Thank you to the author for allowing me a complimentary copy in return for my honest opinion.

The Honey Trap by Mary Jayne Baker, published by Harper Impulse, is available to buy now from Amazon UK

 

Leave a Reply

