Blog Tour! Review of ‘To Have, Not Hold!’ by Carina McEvoy (@mcevoy_carina)

thnhBlurb.

Embrace a healthy attitude towards sudden outbursts of laughter; oh and maybe grab some tissues as you escape into the lives of three remarkable friends, as they each navigate their own catastrophic mess. Discover the strength of friendship while you submerge yourself in suspense, fury and humour. Let the drama unfold… Emma’s doing her best to raise the adorable Amy while hanging on to the ghost of her past. But is she really the crazy, deranged woman she eventually feels compelled to be? Beneath Siobhan’s picture perfect exterior, the struggle of deception is exhausting. However when life slaps her in the face with an unforeseen twist, will she be able to salvage any of her future, perfect or not? With mounting money problems and an unwanted visit from his expertly suppressed past, Jack must confront his inner demons for once and for all. Can he defeat them and emerge as the true person he really is?

What does TWG think?

My first impressions of the book, mainly the title, screamed complete chick lit and I automatically thought wedding. What I wasn’t expecting though, was the way the storyline unfolded, completely different to my first impressions in terms of the slush puppy feelings you might get with a chick lit book.

There were a lot of highs and lows for the characters to deal with, a few of the characters represented the true reality of devastating situations, as well as others sprinkling humour around like fairy dust. I feel that a lot of readers that come across Carina’s book will relate to a character or two because of their personalities of the circumstances that they’re faced with.

I have to say, I did find the storyline a bit difficult to gel with a times, however, Carina’s enthusiastic and humourous writing, how could I not want to keep reading? The whole book did make me curious, I feel that there is a lot more to be uncovered about each of the characters and their lives and I am looking forward to see whether they appear in Carina’s next book, or whether she will give the emotion and humour to a completely different person.

Despite my initial gelling issues, I found myself sobbing to the gut wrenching moments of the story, and there were many. Carina has written a powerful debut novel that speaks volumes in a multitude of ways, and, despite the sprinklings of humour dust, it doesn’t take a scientist to work out that Carina has put her heart and soul into her words. Emotional and inquisitive debut, roll on book number two!

*I received a complimentary copy of the book in exchange for my unbiased opinion*

To Have, Not Hold by Carina McEvoy, can be bought from Amazon UK right now.

Leave a Reply

