Review: ‘Christmas at the Little Village Bakery’ by Tilly Tennant (@TillyTenWriter)@bookouture

tillytenBlurb.

It’s time to get toasty by the fire with a glass of mulled wine and a slice of chocolate yule log sprinkled with a little romance. Welcome to Christmas at the Little Village Bakery.

Snow is falling in Honeybourne and Spencer is bringing home his American fiancée Tori for a traditional English Christmas with all the trimmings. But when his hippie mum and dad meet her high maintenance parents, sparks of the wrong sort start to fly. Then Spencer bumps into his first love Jasmine and unexpected feelings come flooding back.

Millie is run off her feet with Christmas orders at the Little Village Bakery and new baby Oscar. Thank goodness her cousin Darcie is here to help her. Although she does seem to be rather flirty with Millie’s boyfriend Dylan.

Will Darcie ever find true love of her own? And is marrying Tori a terrible mistake for Spencer if his heart is with someone else?

What does TWG think?

**Thank you to the publisher for offering me a complimentary copy in return for my honest and unbiased thoughts.**

Squeal!!! We are back in Honeybourne courtesy of the delectable Tilly Tennant! The first instalment of the series saw us being introduced to The Little Village Bakery, as well as getting to know the residents of Honeybourne.

In this next instalment of the series; ‘Christmas at the Little Village Bakery’, we get to visit Millie at the bakery and meet the newest bun to the baker’s dozen, Oscar! As it quite well known, I do get a little bit weary before reading second or third books in a series. Sounds daft I know, but, Tilly Tennant raised the bar exceptionally high with the previous book, and I wanted this one to follow suit. Perhaps I was a little nervous?

I had no need to be, at all. Honeybourne itself is a very dramatic village in terms of its residents. Add Christmas to the mix and I’m surprised Millie hasn’t conjured up mince pudding or Christmas pies instead of mince pies and Christmas pudding! Millie is in luck though, not only does she have Dylan working in the bakery with her, her cousin, Darcie, has offered an extra pair of hands. There is one slight issue though! Darcie has taken a shine to more than a tiger loaf or a cinnamon swirl, it seems as though she would like to make Dylan her dough boy!

More often than not, it seems as though Christmas is the time for family rifts, arguments and a family member getting drunk. Or is that just Honeybourne? Let me simplify it for you, Spencer + fiancé = young love. Young love + both sets of parents = you’ll have to read the book won’t you! Although, I side completely with Spencer’s parents. I probably shouldn’t, but their down to Earth nature and ability to find a laugh in anything, had me in giggles. Rebel, I know.

I was super excited to find out what Millie and co had been up to since the last book, so I was super pleased to be able to slot back into the story. Felt like I was catching up with old friends. I’m not surprised with the amount of drama that went on throughout as all of the characters have very strong personalities and are bound to find something to disagree on. It also meant that there was always something happening. Always. Especially given the fact that the storyline switches between characters, and it is brilliant.

I adore the way that Tilly Tennant writes, and this book is certainly no different. Tilly’s trademark humour completely oozes from the book, even in a ‘time of need’ situation, Tilly manages to incorporate hilarity to the storyline. I personally think that that is a true talent as it adds even more depth to the novel, but for a completely different reason than the drama does.

‘Christmas at the Little Village Bakery’ had me in hysterics, but it also had me quite solemn when the dynamics of the storyline changed. My heart went out to a few of the characters because of the circumstances that they found themselves in, but, I did get rather miffed with one or two of them. I won’t say who as I wouldn’t want to give too much away. But yes, a few of them definitely rubbed me up the wrong way! I actually like it when I read a book with personally unlikable characters as it makes the read even more interesting! Plus, I enjoy seeing whether the character can persuade me to warm to them ha!

Tilly Tennant has outdone herself once again with this festive treat, and, after reading it, I was very gutted that it wasn’t Christmas in reality! Tilly has written such an enticing book, not only for the delicious treats, but also because of the strong storyline that left me wanting more. I wanted to find out what happened to each of the characters, even after the book finished.

‘Christmas at the Village Bakery’ for me, is such a hug in a book, a festive treat and yet another fantastic read from a very talented author. If this doesn’t make you want to stick your ‘kiss the cook’ apron on to bake mince pies, I have no idea what will!

‘Christmas at the Little Village Bakery’ by Tilly Tennant, published by Bookouture, is available to buy right now from Amazon UK. Happy publication day Tilly!!

One thought on “Review: ‘Christmas at the Little Village Bakery’ by Tilly Tennant (@TillyTenWriter)@bookouture

Leave a Reply

