Book Review ‘I do? – Or do I? by Karen King (@Karen_king) @AccentPress

ido
Blurb.

Local journalist Cassie is getting married to hot-shot, reliable Timothy and his mother Sylvia nicknamed ‘Monster-in-Law’ wants to plan the entire wedding. When Sylvia books the exclusive ID Images to take photographs of the extravagant do, Cassie has no idea what she’s walking into.

The elusive JM, ID Images’ newest photographer, just so happens to be Jared, Cassie’s first love and ex-fiancé, who broke off their engagement to travel and take photos of far-reaching wonders. He’s back to pay for his next wild adventure.

Cassie decides it’s best to pretend not to know him, but when she’s asked to write an article for her newspaper, she’s tasked with a column surrounding all things wedding related. When Cassie jokingly writes a column meant for herself depicting her situation, a co-worker submits it in place of the real article and it’s soon making headlines, with readers asking the age old question – Who Will She Choose?

What does TWG think?

Thank you to Accent Press for a copy of the book in exchange for my unbiased opinion!

Would you get married for safety? No, I don’t mean the protection from harm, type safety. I’m talking about being in a relationship that is….safe. That is it. Just…safe. Would you get married just for that? Add a monster-in-law to the mix and you’re pretty much walking into a marriage that you have no say in. Well, not you, Cassie. She is engaged to a popular, rich, ‘well respected’ man who is governed by his mother. A man who lets mummy make all the decisions, even when it comes to the wedding photographer. How much will Cassie be able to take before she says ‘I don’t’ instead of ‘I do?’?

Oh my goodness me! Sylvia is such an interfering witch, but Karen has written her absolutely perfectly! Such an on point description of an interfering family member, I’m sure a lot of readers will be able to relate with a personality such as Sylvia’s. I’m sure a lot of families have extended family members like her, I know I do!

I couldn’t put this book down at all, it only took me a few hours to read because I was absolutely hooked! I was eager to find out whether Cassie married Timothy, did Sylvia get put in her place, what else Sylvia interfered with….everything! It is definitely the type of book that shouts ‘drama’, I mean, look at the title of it! But the level of drama within the storyline will be determined by your perception of interference.

The nitty gritty, intense storyline was absolutely brilliant. I only found one part of the book predictable, to an extent, but then the drama train came along again and had me on tenterhooks! Every character within the book stood out, they all had a purpose, all be it some of them annoyed me, but they were still memorable. If Karen had written the same book but without the nuisance characters, it wouldn’t have the same effect. You need the drama and pain in the bouquet type people in amongst the rest, it gives the storyline that extra depth.

Not only did the storyline contain intense moments, the added hilarity was perfectly timed as well as creating a way for the reader to become more involved with the book. Such a cleverly written, hilarious and fun book with bucketful’s of drama. Absolutely loved it! Karen’s way of writing is so refreshing, modern and flows perfectly; a bit like a light breeze on a summer’s day: amazing.

I do? Or do I by Karen King, published by Accent Press, is available to buy now from Amazon UK.

4 thoughts on “Book Review ‘I do? – Or do I? by Karen King (@Karen_king) @AccentPress

  1. Pingback: Author of ‘I do..Or Do I?’, Karen King (@karen_king), joins TWG with a #guestpost @RNAtweets | The Writing Garnet

Leave a Reply

