Blog tour! TWG is getting festive with ‘A Winter Affair’ by Minna Howard (@Adelica) @Aria_Fiction

wa
TWG is getting festive…in September! No time is the wrong time for cosy festivities, especially where Minna Howard and ‘A Winter Affair’ is concerned! I had the honour of being asked by Aria Fiction to review this book on tour, after my review of Minna’s ‘Mothers and daughters’ went live. Truly honoured and thank you for the ARC!

wa1

Blurb.

With a recent divorce and empty nest Eloise Brandon is facing Christmas alone until a harried phone call from her godfather changes everything.

Accepting his challenge, Eloise finds herself en-route to Verbier and to her godfathers chalet in the beautiful Swiss Alps to help cater for some seriously rich, high rolling guests.

What ensues makes it a Christmas to remember. A heady alpine mixture of old friends, ex-husbands, mega-rich, super demanding guests, a dishevelled proprietor and Bert the dog.

What does TWG think?

Having just finished reading Minna’s previous book, I was rather excited to read ‘A Winter Affair’. After all, Christmas in the Swiss Alps, how can you not be excited? Easy for me to say I guess, I’m not the one cooking and running around after high-end clientele all day. Luckily (or unluckily) for Eloise, she gets to spend the festive season with other people, and not alone as originally planned. Will Eloise find herself burying her head in the snow if it gets too much? Or will she brave the slopes like a trooper and grab the challenge by the ski-boots?

There is nothing worse than the prospect of a Christmas on your own, unfortunately, Eloise was faced with exactly that. Christmas day would be just Eloise….and her boxes. Or would it?

By the end of the first chapter, I was already curled up on the sofa in my Minnie mouse dressing gown, with my kindle in one hand, and a cuppa in the other. I had no intention of moving from the sofa until the book was completed. There was something quite different about ‘A Winter Affair’, I couldn’t quite put my finger on what it was. All I knew was that I had to keep reading, the force behind Minna’s writing was too powerful to ignore.

I couldn’t believe how ‘busy’ the storyline became, there seemed to be a constant conveyor belt of situations and turmoil to try to resolve. Usually a storyline like that would be too much in an ‘easy read’ but I felt as though the books true depth came from the intense circumstances and feisty characters. Just like any book that I read, there were characters that I gelled with more than others, and some that had me riled up. I won’t say the names of the characters, but all I will say is that one is male, and the other female! Doesn’t narrow it down at all I know ;).

I LOVED the dog, he is the legend of the book. The things that Bert got up to had me in absolute hysterics. I adore the way Minna described his antics, as well as the responses of the characters around him. Genius. I think he should get his own book to be honest, ‘Bert the dog…and friends’.

The cosy feeling captured me early on in the book, so I was rather hopeful that it would stay with me as I continued reading. Which it did! I consider ‘A Winter Affair’ to be an easy read, a book that doesn’t make me think too much yet is soulful with its words.
The only thing that didn’t quite work for me was the fact the wrap up of the storyline felt a tad hurried.

Minna Howard has written such a soul enriching read which involves you in every aspect of the storyline through her words alone. When certain characters were sad, the book came to a standstill in a good way, it was as though the focus needed to be on that one person and as the reader, I felt as though I connected to the emotions that that one person expressed. It’s incredible that 26 letters of the alphabet create such comprehensive words with intense meanings, tugging at your heart-strings in the process.

‘A Winter Affair’ is a book about going for it, sticking with it and realising your own worth. Nobody can fix everything for you, but they can often give you the tools to help you on your way. Take Eloise for example, if she can grab life by its ski-boots with the help of Minna Howard, then who are we to judge? Another fantastic read from the talented Minna Howard. If you have to unwrap something this festive season, make sure it is this book. It will give you your own kiss under the mistletoe this Christmas.

A Winter Affair by Minna Howard, published by Aria, is available to buy now from Amazon UK.

aria


Leave a Reply

