Blog Tour! Review of ‘The Ex-Factor’ by Eva Woods (@InkStainsClaire)@HQStories #TheExFactor

The Ex Factor

Blurb.

Is it possible to freecycle love?

Modern dating is hard, especially when all you meet are liars, oddballs, men who wear Superman pants and men who live with their mums.

So why not date someone who already comes pre-approved? Just because your friend’s ex wasn’t right for her doesn’t mean that he won’t be right for you. That’s Marnie’s new plan for herself and her three best friends, perennially single Helen, recently divorced Rosa and cynical lawyer Ani.

Through bad dates and good, the four friends begin to realise that there are advantages to dating pre-screened men…but there can be some serious pitfalls to falling for your friend’s ex

What does TWG think?

TWG would like to thank the lovely Cara from HQStories for squeezing me on this tour and allowing me an ARC.

‘The Ex-Factor’, what a title! As soon as I saw the title I thought ‘uh-oh’, what could possibly go wrong!! Your best friend dating your ex, well, one of. The ex that may have been sent packing by yours truly, yet gets a chance with YOUR best friend? Totally not weird at all, waste not want not!

I may be a cynic, but recycling a sister from another mister’s ex-lover just screams ‘MAYHEM!’ That my friends, is exactly why I wanted to read the book. I mean, who wouldn’t want to read about that sort of thing? Can you imagine the amount of secrets that could come spilling out? Four best friends choosing four exes to give to one of their friends to date and have a chance of getting their happy ending. Intriguing.

Well! All four ladies stand out in their own ways, completely different personalities each with their own fair share of heartbreak. Although, some of that heartbreak remains hidden, it is only a matter of time before it erupts, and it won’t be pretty.

I have to admit, it did take me a while to get into the swing of the book (pardon the pun), there was a lot of too-ing and fro-ing between characters and their emotions. I did warm up to the storyline though and found a couple of the ladies (Rosa & Ani) to be quite endearing and memorable; they quickly became my favourite characters after that!

I know it is good for the environment to recycle, but I definitely would not give any of my exes to my friends to date! Because of my own personal opinion on the matter, I loved how different this book was. A topic that will divide the readers and will definitely keep them talking.
Eva Woods has taken such a diverse topic and put her own signature twist on it that makes the book stand out from the rest. Not only was there romance, there were plenty of giggles throughout the book (aside from the men in superman pants obviously).

Despite my initial reservations, I enjoyed the concept of the story and the way that Eva brought it to life. Such a cleverly written book that will definitely spark many different opinions!
Eva Woods has the X – Factor in the book world for me, but she most certainly is not getting one of my exes, I’m not that mean!!!

The Ex Factor by Eva Woods, published by HQ Stories, will be released on the 8th September 2016. You can pre-order your copy from Amazon UK.


Leave a Reply

