Book review – My Husband’s Wife by Amanda Prowse (@MrsAmandaProwse) @HoZ_Books

ap1
Blurb.

Once a week, Rosie Tipcott counts her blessings.

She goes to sit on her favourite bench on the north Devon cliffs, and thanks her lucky stars for her wonderful husband, her mischievous young daughters, and her neat little house by the sea. She vows to dedicate every waking hour to making her family happy.

But then her husband unexpectedly leaves her for another woman and takes the children. Now she must ask the question: what is left in her life? Can Rosie find the strength to rebuild herself? More importantly, does she even want to?

What does TWG think?

We all have a special place to think or zone out, some may call it their ‘happy place’. A place to be alone with your thoughts, both positive and negative ones. For Rosie Tipcott, that ‘happy place’ is a bench, the place where she can think about those that are dear to her as well as memories she didn’t have a chance to make. Her husband and her daughters are her world. Rosie knows how to be a mum and a wife, it’s all she has ever known. Suddenly, Rosie’s ‘known’ life becomes the unknown, will Rosie find the strength to swim before she sinks, or will she always be known as ‘My Husband’s Wife?’

Before I begin, I would like to say thank you to the Prowse’s for allowing me to have an ARC in return for my honest opinion.

I have been staring at my screen for the last half an hour, trying to create a functional sentence that isn’t made up of just adjectives. It is proving to be quite tricky I must say, especially as the author of this book is THE Amanda Prowse. Reviewing Mrs Prowse is as nerve-wracking as reviewing the Queen (I can only assume!). ‘My Husband’s Wife’ put a spell on me from the first chapter; I couldn’t put it down, and I most certainly didn’t want to put it down. Rosie Tipcott has quickly turned into one of my favourite female main characters. I warmed to her loveable and enticing nature straight away as her heart is filled with so much love, it spills outside the book. Throughout her life, Rosie has felt a sense of abandonment, especially as no-one close to her was willing to fill in the gaps of her life she so desperately craved.

Reading about Rosie’s feelings of abandonment struck a chord with me, I wanted to hug her, tell her that I understood her feelings. But I couldn’t. I couldn’t let her know her feelings were justified and that made me quite sad. Just like Rosie, I feel abandoned due to events in my personal life, such an unexplainable feeling that can only be reassured by the gaps being filled. The impossible gaps.

All Rosie wants is a happy life, not much to ask is it really? As far as she is concerned, her life with her husband and two daughters is just that, unfortunately her husband disagrees. As soon as I realised what was about to happen with Rosie’s children, I held my breath, I couldn’t imagine for one second how that must feel to have your own children taken away. To watch them leave without any word of when you will see them next, rendering you absolutely useless. At that point in the book, my heart broke for Rosie and her children. Her whole life was turned upside down because her husband didn’t feel like thinking with his brain.

As you can tell, I’m sure, I like to get rather involved in storylines and characters within a book.  Previous books that I have read, I have gotten involved in,  but never have I ever gotten so involved in a storyline that I lost sight of my surroundings. ‘My Husband’s Wife’ pulled me onto the rollercoaster ride of emotions, and I couldn’t have stopped if I tried. It was just me and the book. I laughed, and I cried (a lot); all I wanted to do after I had read it was give Amanda a hug.

‘My Husband’s Wife’ took me on a journey, a journey that I have never experienced before and one that I will never, ever forget. Every single word that Amanda wrote was backed with emotion, powerful emotion that would easily knock you off your feet. Reading Amanda’s work of art didn’t feel like reading a book, it felt real. Imagine watching situations happen in front of you in your every day life, it was exactly like that.

‘My Husband’s Wife’ is a book about motherly love, loss and finding the strength to carry on, no matter what. A book that you will always carry with you in your heart to remind you that it is okay to feel emotion. It’s okay to cry, your feelings are justified. I will forever carry Amanda’s book with me in my heart and my soul, something that I never thought would be a possibility. I am in awe of the complexity of this book, yet it is relatable in so many ways. A powerful gem of a book that will fill your arms with goosebumps, and hypnotize you in ways you never could have imagined.

My Husband’s Wife by Amanda Prowse, published by Head Of Zeus, is available to buy right now from Amazon UK

3 thoughts on “Book review – My Husband’s Wife by Amanda Prowse (@MrsAmandaProwse) @HoZ_Books

  1. Pingback: TWG’s Top 24 Books of 2016! @Bookouture @headlinepg @HQStories @canelo_co @littlebrownuk &more | The Writing Garnet

Leave a Reply

