Book review – The List by Joanna Bolouri

thelist

Blurb.
Phoebe Henderson may be single but she sure doesn’t feel fabulous. It’s been a year since she found her boyfriend Alex in bed with another woman, and multiple cases of wine and extensive relationship analysis with best friend Lucy have done nothing to help. Faced with a new year but no new love, Phoebe concocts a different kind of resolution.
The List: ten things she’s always wanted to do in bed but has never had the chance (or the courage!) to try. A bucket list for between the sheets. One year of pleasure, no strings attached.

Simple, right? Factor in meddlesome colleagues, friends with benefits, getting frisky al fresco and maybe, possibly, true love and Phoebe’s got her work cut out for her.

What does TWG think?

Sometimes you just fancy reading something different, maybe a book that isn’t your typical read for a weekday night. Or maybe a book by a brand new author (to you). One lonely night, I to fancied something different. I had just finished reading a couple of rather deep and dark novels and decided that I deserved a book session on Amazon. Within moments I spotted ‘The List’, the cover made me go ‘ooer‘ and because I wasn’t wearing my glasses, I could only see the large writing. The ambiguous large writing that makes you wonder why the hell someone has written a book about a shopping list…(I didn’t think that…honestly). I literally began the book none the wiser.

Just to clarify, this book isn’t about a list for your weekly shop! If you could write a list of things you would like to achieve in a year, to do with just one topic, what would you choose? A list of adventure sports you’ve always wanted to try, but some of them may involve the possibility of the odd break, but you still go for them anyway? Or maybe a list of countries you want to visit, some of which have HUGE spiders at 1cm long, but you’ll be brave and pluck up the courage and go? OR what about a list of ten things that you have always wanted to try in bed? No, I don’t mean trying to do a headstand on your bed as one of the ‘things’, that’ll be stupid. (Can anyone do a headstand on their bed…asking for a friend…).

After Phoebe found her boyfriend getting jiggy with another woman in HER bed, she has felt a little deflated. Mind you, it was a year ago, but she struggles to get over the heartbreak, and the size of the woman’s melons..
New year, new start, new Phoebe. After a wine fuelled session with her best friend Lucy, Phoebe decides that her New Year’s resolution will be ticking everything off on her list. The list being ten things she has always wanted to do in bed, you need someone to do that with don’t you? But where would Phoebe find a male willing to explore her list, and some? Ah, she’ll manage it fine, it’s no big deal…right?

This review has taken me ages to write because I have to stop typing every 0.5 seconds as I’m laughing at the book. ‘The List’ had me in hysterics. It got to the point where I was laughing so hard, I thought I would have to get shares in Tena Lady! I’m not a prude by all means, but if Ally Mcbeal is on the TV in the background and a guy wants to disturb me on the bed, you can bet which one win out of the guy and Ally McBeal! That’s right ladies and gentlemen, Ally McBeal! Got to be something impressive to stop me from watching that! With that in mind, many of the quotes in the book were along the same lines as mine! I mean, a big chocolate egg or sex? The chocolate egg obviously!!!!

Joanna’s humour is incredible, it is literally a side-splitting, gut wrenching, nose drippingly hilarious read. Obviously, if you’re a prude, you don’t like the C-bomb and don’t wish to know what sexual antic is like childbirth in reverse, then clearly the book isn’t for you! I actually found Joanna’s novel to be quite relatable in a weird sense. There are a lot of females (or males) out there that don’t have the confidence in bed, don’t have the confidence in themselves to try new things, or even think of sex as a taboo or embarrassing subject. But then you meet Phoebe. She ticks all of the boxes above, yet takes you on her journey of self discovery (literally) and turns the ‘taboo’ subject into a ‘hang on, it’s natural!’ type moment. Don’t get me wrong, Phoebe went above and beyond with her list, she clearly was going to go for it with no holding back! Some of her choices along the way sounded a bit desperate, but despite having a cringe moment whilst reading it, I squealed like a twat with high-pitched laughter. I’m sexy and I know it!

This review is quite a tricky one to write as I want to say my opinion on the whole book, but if I did that, I would end up giving it away, and that wouldn’t be good. So can you please go and buy it, read it, and then discuss it with me?!

‘The List’ is a book that will make you forget as you’re too busy laughing your ass off at the words in front of you. Hands down, it was THE funniest book that I have ever read, in multiple ways. It has disgustingly hilarious moments, cringy hilarious moments and ‘omg I can’t breathe I’m laughing too hard but I’ll keep on reading’ moments. Absolutely FANTASTIC book to read. Joanna, please can you be my new BFF cause you are an absolute riot!

The List by Joanna Bolouri, published by Quercus, is available to buy right now from Amazon UK and Amazon US

Leave a Reply

