#Discussion – What’s on your mind TWG? – Can a book really speak to you, or is that just wishful thinking?

It’s that time of the week again! Well, kind of. I am actually a day late in posting this feature this week, I do apologise! I haven’t had any readers kick me up my toosh toosh to remind me, so I’m hoping you still enjoy the feature!
I wrote on the facebook page (feel free to ‘like’ the FB page here) for this blog that this weeks feature will have a more personal element added. Although, I don’t know how much more personal it can get, after all, it is about my mind ;).

So, the topic that has been on my mind is: ‘can a book really speak to you, or is that just wishful thinking?’

I’m sure many of you have read books that you could relate to for multiple reasons, whether it’s because of a character’s personality or even certain events within the story. It’s crazy how something based on ‘made up’ events, can make you feel as though you are reading about your own life.

If you have felt as though a book has spoken to you, which one was it? In what way did it speak to you? As usual, I would love to hear your thoughts and personal feelings on this topic. If something I too personal for you to share, please don’t feel that you have to share if you don’t want to.

I have been a bookworm for many years but when you’re reading books as a teenager, it’s less likely that you would sit there dissecting a book like you would as an adult. Don’t get me wrong, there are hundreds of relatable books out there for young adults which cover some unfortunately ‘popular’ subjects. For example, suicide, teen pregnancy, self harm, cyber bullying, sexual assault, just to name a few. Those subjects in particular are usually seen as ‘taboo’ subjects because nobody really knows what to say. It could be possible that anyone going through those issues in their life, may not feel comfortable talking to anyone close to them about it. So when an author is willing to write about situations that crop up in everyday life, those books could become a lifeline for readers in terms of feeling less alone. That is when books will shout from the rooftops.

I read a book at the start of the year that didn’t just speak to me, it shouted at me. Have any of you read The years of loving you – Review by Ella Harper? The book has such a relatable storyline for me, and millions of other people I’m sure. Life changing illnesses, also known to be chronic illnesses; parkinsons, depression, fibromyalgia, arthritis, crohns disease, hypothyroidism, again just to name a few.
**Please note that I have only selected a few, I do know that there are a lot of other illnesses at different levels, but as the book contains one of the illnesses that I stated above, I named the branches of that illness.
‘The years of loving you’ takes you on THE journey. The journey of oblivion to destruction in just one afternoon. The journey of grief. The journey of multiple masks and trying to find one that fits. To read such an emotional journey, having just had my path re-routed on THE journey for the sixth time in nine years, caught me off guard. The feelings that I felt, moments when I felt as though I was crazy for feeling like I do, someone in the book had the same thoughts and feelings and they were struggling with it too.

Can you see why the book didn’t just speak to me? When you find characters to be incredibly real, it can make you feel as though you have someone who knows exactly what you’re going through, or went through. Has anyone else ever felt like that?

There are a lot of books where I find the characters speak to me within a book. To be honest, sometimes I do find a character or two that I wish I could have a stern word with haha. One of the lovely ladies in a book by Darcie Boleyn spoke to me because of her wisdom…and the fact that I wanted a best friend like her!

In my opinion, yes, I believe that books can speak volumes. Not just in emotional ways due to certain events, but in eye-opening ways that can make you start thinking about your own life. It’s books like that, that I believe to be little gems. Small in size but the volume is immense. I thank each and every author out there for taking the time to write such moving and soul capturing books. As a reader that relies on books as an escape from a daily struggle of continuous pain and illnesses, when you find a good book that triggers your emotions and thoughts as well as relatable factor, it’s like having a pocket-sized friend. Only YOU know what it holds. Beauty is within, just like the contents of a book.

My question to you, can a book really speak to YOU?

7 thoughts on “#Discussion – What’s on your mind TWG? – Can a book really speak to you, or is that just wishful thinking?

  1. I think it can, those reads when you’ve nodded in agreement with a character or an action, other times when you’ve realised you’ve been given an answer to something which may have puzzled you for years. Even a self-help book which has made a difference to you or a friend. Or perhaps a book which takes you to a place of safety, escape or pure pleasure.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Some of the books that have had the greatest effect on me are not the ones that leave a specific impression, but those that leave me with a general feeling.

    One of my favourite books of all time is American Gods by Neil Gaiman. I ended up finishing this book at 3 in the morning, having not been able to put it down. It left me with a profound feeling of well, I don’t really know. It affected my mood for days, I felt like I had gone through some emotional experience, but I had no words in which to express this. I couldn’t, and still can’t, decide exactly what that feeling was but I know that it was an important one.

    I couldn’t say that it has changed my life, but it did make me view it through a different lens, at least for a while in the afterglow of the book. I hope to be able to recapture that feeling again, though I’ve no idea how.

    To answer your question directly, yes. Books absolutely can speak to you. Even without a direct point of empathy or reason for that connection, words can be powerful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yes, some books speak volumes to me. Sometimes, I will feel a sense of grief when a book like that comes to an end. I want to know what has happened next or I want to go have coffee with the person, or author.

    Like

Leave a Reply

