#Blogtour – We’ve Come To Take You Home by Susan Gandar.

susang
We’ve come to take you home  by Susan Gandar.
Published 23rd March 2016 by Matador.
Available to buy from Amazon UK//Amazon US//Troubador

‘Samantha Foster and Jessica Brown are destined to meet. But one lives in the 20th century, the other in the 21st…
It is April 1916 and thousands of men have left home to fight in the war to end all wars. Jessica Brown’s father is about to be one of these men. A year later, he is still alive, but Jess has to steal to keep her family from starving. And then a telegram arrives – her father has been killed in action. 

Four generations later, Sam Foster’s father is admitted to hospital with a suspected brain haemorrhage. A nurse asks if she would like to take her father’s hand. Sam refuses. All she wants is to get out of this place, stuck between the world of the living and the world of the dead, a place with no hope and no future, as quickly as possible.
As Sam’s father’s condition worsens, her dreams become more frequent – and more frightening. She realises that what she is experiencing is not a dream, but someone else’s living nightmare…
We’ve Come to Take You Home is an emotionally-charged story of a friendship forged 100 years apart..’

It’s TWG’s tour stop for Susan Gandar’s debut ‘We’ve come to take you home’! Thank you to Susan for sending me a signed (just had to) copy of the book personally, in return for my honest opinion!
I’ll be honest, I had to spend a while thinking about how I was going to write my review for this book, the first line of the post got changed multiple times, I just could not work out what to write. Now, before you put your head in your hands wondering if that was because I didn’t like the book, lift your head up. No, it’s not that I didn’t enjoy the book, I couldn’t find my words, the correct words, to describe a book that has so much raw emotional as well as the ability to draw you into a situation as though you had gone through it yourself.
‘We’ve come to take you home’ follows the life and the memories of Samantha Foster and Jessica Brown. It’s as though one life ends when another begins. The story isn’t as straight forward as I personally assumed it would be as it switches between the lives and memories of both the girls. That said, the amount of depth within the book makes up for my inability to work things out quicker ha!
The circumstances with Jessica’s life are truly harrowing and a lot of people may find that they relate to what she and her father went through in service. To be honest though, the way that Susan has written about the war-time, whether you are connected to it indirectly or not, it will probably make you feel slightly emotional.
As I read more of the book, I found myself connecting to more parts of it than I did others. That’s not a negative comment on the book itself, everyone will connect to things in a different way.
What would you do if you could see or feel things that had happened to other people? Unnerving really. Makes a very cleverly written story though!
My favourite part of Susan’s novel was her writing. Susan’s way of writing captivated me in multiple ways. She managed to create a feeling of power and intensity over such few sentences, it left me eager to find out what she writes next.
Despite the fact I found a few parts difficult to comprehend, overall the book was fascinating and definitely opened my eyes to differences in era’s and the differences in hidden emotion.

About Susan Gandar:

susang2
My father, John Box, was a film production designer, working on ‘Lawrence of Arabia’, ‘Dr. Zhivago’, ‘The Great Gatsby’, ‘A Man For All Seasons’ and the musical ‘Oliver’. (Click here for more on John ) Our house was always filled with people, usually eccentric, always talented, invariably stroppy, discussing stories. My mother put my father’s four Oscars to good use as toilet roll holders, doorstops and hat stands. A major chunk of my childhood was spent loitering around on film sets. Who needs an ‘English education’ when you have the polystyrene-coated streets of downtown Moscow, ten miles outside of Madrid, to explore?

But then the years of ‘Who Will Buy My Sweet Red Roses’ came to a rather abrupt end. Reality knocked on the door in the guise of the Metropolitan Line to Shepherds Bush and the BBC. Working in television as a script editor and story consultant, I was part of the creative team responsible for setting up ‘Casualty’. I became known for going after the more ‘difficult’ stories at the same time successfully racking up viewing figures from 7 to 14 million. I went on to develop various projects for both the BBC and the independent sector. The period I enjoyed most was working with Jack Rosenthal, a wonderful writer, on the series ‘Moving Story’ – ‘That’s a situation, a good situation, but now you need to make it into a story.’
Martin, my husband, was made an offer he couldn’t refuse and we left England to live in Amsterdam. ‘Ik wil een kilo kabeljauw, alstublieft’ will, if all goes well, buy you a piece of cod – I decided to concentrate on my writing rather than my Dutch pronunciation. My debut novel, ‘We’ve Come to Take You Home’, set in the present and in 1918, a crossover
aimed at the adult and young adult women’s popular fiction market, was published on 28th March by Matador.

Susan’s Website
Follow Susan on Twitter
Susan’s Facebook

Leave a Reply

