#Blogtour – The Stepmother by Claire Seeber.

The Stepmother blog tour graphic.jpg

The Blurb.

The perfect wife. A fairytale family. Don’t believe your eyes…

Jeanie and Matthew are a happily married couple who both have teenage children from previous relationships. No one said it would be easy to raise a blended family under one roof but Jeanie and Matthew are strong. They will make it work.
And whilst Jeanie’s step-daughter Scarlett rejects her, Jeanie will just have to try harder to win her over.

But Jeanie has a past. A terrible secret she thought she’d buried a long time ago. And now, it’s coming to the surface, threatening to destroy her new marriage.
Someone is playing a terrifying game on Jeanie and she must put a stop to it once and for all.
After all, a fairytale needs a happy ending…doesn’t it?

A compelling, dark and twisty psychological thriller.’

TWG’s Thoughts.

I am extremely honoured to have been asked by Bookouture publicity manager, Kim Nash, to be part of Claire’s tour! Thank you Kim!

Seriously, WHY is this the first book of Claire’s that I have read? Why didn’t I come across her books sooner?!
We all wish for our own fairytale ending don’t we? We meet a person, fall in love, get a cosy little house together, have children and everything is hunky dory….yes? But imagine this scenario; boy meets girl, girl has child and boy has two children, girl has a past and so does the boy, both pasts are unknown to the other person before marriage. That scenario is grounds for a fairytale ending as well, isn’t it? I mean, joining two ready-made families together to create one big happy family is going to have the standard everyday struggles. Children bickering, ex-partner’s showing up all the time, a house with a history, random rooms….you know, those sorts of struggles….

Before you start reading this book, clear your diary, unplug your phone and ignore life demands. Why? Because you cannot, under any circumstance, be disturbed whilst reading it. I’m saying that from experience as when I was reading it, I nearly let my family walk around the house in the buff as I wanted to keep reading instead of doing the washing!
‘The Stepmother’ had all my vitals raised. My heart was pounding, my breathing was erratic and I was absolutely HOOKED on every single word that Claire had written. Every single page had me wanting more. Reading the book felt like opening Mary Poppin’s bag. Never ending and kept on giving. A treasure chest if you will.

Usually I find in some books that the main character has the most depth and the other characters are memorable but not as complex. With this book, it wasn’t the case at all. Not only does the Jeanie have a past, a very complex past, every main character does too. I thought it was incredibly clever to have such a dark and mysterious book containing many characters with such depth.  I am in awe of Claire for how she has managed to write all of that without any flaws. There were no gaps in the story at all. Many times I found myself thinking I knew where the story was heading and who did what, but every single time I was wrong! As I read more of the book, other circumstances became more apparent and to me, it seemed as though enough clues were there to back up that particular circumstance. Things aren’t always as they seem…

This book had me in a constant state of shock; gasping became my knee jerk reaction, as did covering my mouth. I have never read a book that made me feel as though I would be missing out on vital information if I stopped reading, until this one. Don’t get me wrong, I began questioning myself and feeling like I was the one causing the trouble for Jeannie, but that just goes to show how captivated by the storyline I was!
I cannot fault this book at all, well, apart from the obvious fact that it had to end (how rude!). When I finished reading ‘The Stepmother’, I was physically exhausted by the ride I had just been on with Jeannie and her family. But then, shortly after, I began to grieve for the book that I had just read! I would have carried on reading it if I had the chance.

The Stepmother by Claire Seeber is an absolute MUST READ. Such a gripping story that will leave you guessing the whole way through. A book that keeps on giving. Just when you think it can’t get any better than it already is, oh it definitely does! I LOVED, LOVED, LOVED this book if you couldn’t tell that already. It is definitely my favourite book of 2016 SO FAR. Terrifyingly brilliant from start to finish.
I cannot wait to find out what Claire’s next book will be about!

Claire Seeber, you are a literary genius. I am in complete awe of your work as you have written a truly magnificent book. Thank you.

The Stepmother is available to buy right now from:
Amazon UK
Amazon US

clairee

Claire Seeber’s TV career has seen her move from in front of the camera to behind it, and from MTV, to  chatshows, to documentaries. Her work has taken her all over the world, but home is in London with her partner and two children. Claire writes features for a range of broadsheets, last year began studying psychology, and has had four novels published by HarperCollins.

Claire’s Website
Follow Claire on Twitter
‘Like’ Claire’s Facebook Page

3 thoughts on “#Blogtour – The Stepmother by Claire Seeber.

  1. Pingback: TWG’s Top 24 Books of 2016! @Bookouture @headlinepg @HQStories @canelo_co @littlebrownuk &more | The Writing Garnet

Leave a Reply

