Book review of ‘The Wedding Date’ by Jennifer Joyce.

The Wedding Date by Jennifer Joyce.
Published 28th March 2016 by Carina UK.
Available to buy from Amazon UK.

‘Will you…date me?
Delilah James, singleton and smoothie-addict, has six months to find a date for her oldest friend’s wedding. Oh, and to prove to her ex, best man Ben, that she has totally moved on since he dumped her out-of-the-blue nine months, eight days and seventeen hours ago…
So, with her two BFFs playing Cupid, Delilah launches herself into the high-tech, fast-paced and frankly terrifying world of dating. Luckily there’s the hot new guy at work, Adam Sinclair, to practice her flirting on – even if, as a colleague, he’s strictly off-limits!
Yet time’s running out and date after disastrous date forces Delilah to tell a little white lie – and invent a fake boyfriend! But will her secret crush on Adam ruin everything? Does she even care about Ben anymore? And is it too late to untangle her web of lies and take a real date to the wedding…?’

Ah, weddings! They can be stressful can’t they? I mean, you need to ensure you’re looking your best, preened to perfection from head to toe with every single thing organised. Plus there is the added stress of invitations. Without those, nobody would turn up, obviously, but then you have to painstakingly sit there and work out who you’re going to the wedding with……
Oh, no, sorry, I’m not on about the stresses for the bride!! The bride will be with her husband! I was on about who would have the privilege of accompanying a singleton to a wedding, a plus one, a wedding date. STRESS!! Now if that wasn’t enough to send your mind into overdrive, you then find out from the bride herself that your ex partner will be at the wedding. Not just a quick fumble type ex, an ex that truly broke your heart and has moved on faster than a conveyor belt at the supermarket.
Single, going to a wedding, ex partner to be there with NEW partner, did I say single? Surely it won’t be that much of a disaster….will it?

My, my, myyyyyy Delilah. Yes, I did it. Sorry Delilah! Delilah has six months to find herself a date for an old friends wedding. Usually it would be a simple task as she could have taken her best friend, however, her ex Ben is going to be there. Cue major girl drama and her two best friends (and sister) trying to set her up with every Tom, Dick, and Harry. Well, Delilah’s sister’s choice of men is quite questionable. A man and a computer, what could possibly go wrong….

I want Delilah’s job, she works in a biscuit factory. Unfortunately, she doesn’t work where the biscuits are made, that is the only downfall. Although, she does work next to something else that is ‘sweet’. Meet Adam, one of the new guys in her office, everything about him shouts ‘dunk me’ (Peter Kay reference anyone?). Not only has Delilah’s two best friends pushed her to go on multiple dates courtesy of online dating, Adam manages to catch her eye. However, whilst that sounds perfect, Delilah believes that she isn’t good enough after Ben broke her heart, so she feels the need to tell one lie, then two, then….see where I’m going with this?

I knew Jennifer’s books were funny, but I underestimated how funny. Sarcasm + one liners + character’s with questionable personalities = TWG snorting. Classy, right? Many times throughout the book I kept changing my mind about where I thought the story was heading. Some situations were saying one thing, and others were changing my train of thought completely. However, I was still surprised, probably a bit like Delilah was when she found out her ex Ben was going to be at the wedding!

There are a few situations in the book that had me covering my face because I was cringing and thinking ‘did that just happen?’. No, not because of Jennifer’s writing, but because of several characters and their one track minds. I may have been cringing, but I loved it. ‘The Wedding Date’ is such a light-hearted and easy flowing read, nothing within the book was a hardship to read. I genuinely didn’t want the book to finish as I wanted to find out what happened AFTER the wedding. The characters had such depth that I felt they had more to give and perhaps needed another story to breathe in. If that makes sense? Maybe I am just being greedy and wanting more. That isn’t a bad thing though! Definitely recommended as one of my ‘Must reads of 2016’!!

I do want Jennifer Joyce as my new BFF though, her humour is pretty much like mine. One thing though Jennifer, please don’t set me up with any….computer exploring guys, if you catch my drift! I am looking forward to read what you have in store next!

One thought on “Book review of ‘The Wedding Date’ by Jennifer Joyce.

Leave a Reply

