Lynsey James, you’re FAB ‘Just The Way You Are’!

‘Just The Way You Are’ by Lynsey James.
Published 8th May 2015 by Carina UK.
Available to buy from Amazon UK.

Dear Ava,
How do you start writing a letter to someone, six years after breaking their heart? 
Ava is unlucky in love as well as in life. The new office bitch has landed the dating column Ava wanted, and she can’t remember the last time she had a second date. It’s a good thing she has best friends Max and Gwen to pick up the pieces.
Deep down, Ava knows the reason why one date never turns into two – she’s in love with someone else. Someone she’s never even met.
It all started six years ago, with a letter from a secret admirer, Mr Writer… but then they suddenly stopped and Ava was heartbroken.
Now the letters have started again and Ava knows it could mean winning back the dating column at work. This time she’s determined to unmask Mr Writer… and find out once and for all if he’s Mr Right or Mr Very Definitely Wrong!’

It is incredibly surreal when an author you’re aware of, messages you and asks you to review their books as they love your blog! When I received a message from Lynsey James asking me to do just that, I was a tad stunned. Thank you Lynsey!

Most of you will know by now that I like incorporating songs into my posts. I mean, who doesn’t like a good sing song? But, Lynsey’s title of her book has done the song for me, instead of reading the cover, I sang it! Well, don’t I sound weird now….ahem!

Anyway, moving on!
Have you ever dreamt about your ideal partner? Imagined what they would look like, act like, hobbies and so on? But what would you do if you were head over heels for a special someone and you haven’t even met them, but you have been in contact with them?
Sounds a bit like AOL chat room meeting Tinder doesn’t it? But it can happen. Apparently.

Ava has a fear. A fear that has made her stop in her tracks and question her judgement. No, I’m not talking about spiders either. Rejection. Because of her fear, she doesn’t want to put herself out that and wear her heart on her sleeve. But one day, after six years of quiet, she realises the mysterious letters have started again. Will Ava finally be able to wear her heart on her sleeve and allow herself to be loved? Or will Ava get rejected all over again? People say that love comes when you least expect it, but what if it has been there all along?

Not only does Ava have mysterious letters to contend with, she has the office bint to contend with too. You must have come across the sort; nasty, brown noser, up their own backside so much that it turns into a hat, you know, THOSE people. Although to be ‘fair’, they often come across different headings and not just ‘office bint’. Ava can never do anything right in her job it seems. Not only is she frightened of getting left behind and hurt, she’s battling with her confidence at work. Can see why she is a tad miffed just now eh!

Ava has her two best friends though, Gwen and Max. The two people who know her better than anyone else. I quite enjoyed reading about their friendship. Came across as such a strong bond. Given the nature of the storyline, I kept changing my mind as to whether I knew where it was heading. One minute I knew, the next I was back on the fence as part of the story swerved my decision. The typical ‘it can’t be, can it?’ thoughts, except I said mine out loud. Geez I get too involved in books ha!

All three main characters; Ava, Gwen and Max made some stupid mistakes, I did get quite annoyed with their actions and I punished them by not liking them for a few minutes. Maturity at its finest! I did enjoy reading ‘Just The Way You Are’. It was a fun distraction from my problems and I definitely needed something very slushy to read. Slushy is a compliment by the way. By slushy, I mean romantic…and the fact that the ending made me cry. Oh, did I say that it was slushy soppiness? By crying whilst reading this book I definitely wore my heart on my sleeve, but seeing as the book kept on giving, I definitely wasn’t scared of any rejection.

Leave a Reply

