I need a coffee and a yummy cake, ‘The Cherry Tree Cafe’ anyone? Heidi Swain?

The Cherry Tree Café by Heidi Swain.
Published 16th July 2015 by Simon & Schuster UK.
Available to buy from Amazon UK.

‘Lizzie Dixon’s life feels as though it’s fallen apart. Instead of the marriage proposal she was hoping for from her boyfriend, she is unceremoniously dumped, and her job is about to go the same way. So, there’s only one option: to go back home to the village she grew up in and to try to start again.
 
Her best friend Jemma is delighted Lizzie has come back home. She has just bought a little cafe and needs help in getting it ready for the grand opening. And Lizzie’s sewing skills are just what she needs.
With a new venture and a new home, things are looking much brighter for Lizzie. But can she get over her broken heart, and will an old flame reignite a love from long ago…?’

You know what springs to mind when I hear/read ‘The Cherry Tree Cafe’? No? Well, no, I guess you won’t know as I haven’t told you yet! The word ‘cosy’ springs to mind. Before I started reading the book, I envisioned a vintage style café with cakes, floral decoration and a homely, cosy feel to it. Funny how much a title of a book and its cover can make you think isn’t it!

Lizzie is at a standstill in her life thanks to her wonderful boyfriend, sorry, EX boyfriend. She could stay working in the job that HE got for her, or she could go back to her home town and await all the told you so’s from her mother. Damned if she does, damned if she doesn’t really. Poor Lizzie.

Lizzie decided to go for the latter. Go back to her home village and deal with the comments when they arose. However, little did Lizzie know, her life was about to get even more complicated. Even more complicated that one of Jemma’s cakes couldn’t even fix it. I wonder if Jemma makes humble pie?

I adored following Lizzie’s new venture and ‘seeing’ her make good use of the talents that she had to put aside for many years. Heidi described every little detail of everything that was made. It was as though I had the items right in front of me. Maybe I need to sweet talk Heidi into ‘getting’ me a memento from the café -flutters eyelashes-.

I did find Lizzie to be a little bit of a lost character. She came across as though she didn’t have a clue what she wanted, but was easily tempted by things that she thought she wanted. I must say, I got a little frustrated at her choices during the story. But I guess it is easy for an outsider to say that though isn’t it? All Lizzie wants is to be loved for who she is, and to be settled in a life that she chose NOT what she had to go along with.

When friendships and relationships get put to the test, it becomes perfectly clear why Lizzie has issues with trust. I felt quite sorry for her. Despite the fact that I worked out where the story was heading about half way through, it didn’t ruin the rest of the story for me. I thought it may have done, but I was getting excited waiting for it all to happen and take place. I just wanted Lizzie to be happy and those around her to realise the error of their ways.

I really enjoy reading books about cafe’s and shops because the likelihood of me actually working in one, are slim to nil. Plus, if I read fun books about them, like this one, I can be transported to The Cherry Tree Café without even leaving my bed! The Cherry Tree Café is definitely a fun, cosy read; ideal to read especially if ‘stress’ has become your middle name. Why? Because as soon as you ‘walk’ into The Cherry Tree Café, your problems disappear.

One thought on “I need a coffee and a yummy cake, ‘The Cherry Tree Cafe’ anyone? Heidi Swain?

  1. Pingback: ‘The Cherry Tree Cafe’ turns ONE today! Happy debut book birthday Heidi Swain!! | The Writing Garnet

Leave a Reply

