Guess what Jennifer Bohnet! Surprise! ‘I’m Virtually yours.’

I’m Virtually Yours by Jennifer Bohnet.
Published 9th December 2013 by Carina UK.
Available to buy in E-book format from Amazon UK.

‘Polly Jones is taken aback when a new client asks her to investigate the Robertson family business in Devon, after all, a ‘virtual assistant’ doesn’t usually leave their home office! But she needs the work – and less proximity to an endless supply of tea and biscuits can only be a good thing right? So she sets off, with energetic puppy Rosie close by her side.

Polly’s new job isn’t quite in her comfort zone… Arriving in the small fishing village where everyone knows everyone’s business, any upsides (all those yummy scones and clotted cream) of course have their downside – she’s completely forgotten to pack her sea legs, and the temptingly handsome Will Robertson is making her job difficult at every turn.

It’s so much easier to keep things strictly professional in the virtual world – but with no e-mail to hide behind Polly must admit that Will’s smile is incredibly, deliciously distracting…’

Jennifer Bohnet has been on my ‘author to read’ list for quite a while, and still is because there are a few others I just need to read. After reading a rather deeply emotional book, I needed to find something shorter to read, so obviously Jennifer came to mind. As soon as I saw the title of this book on Amazon, I just had to buy it. Curiosity got the better of me because I thought ‘is this about dating websites?’ ‘is this book about someone dreaming?’, I had no idea! That in itself made me excited. I like playing the guessing game with books because I no longer read the blurbs, I want to find out the information for myself. ‘I’m Virtually Yours’ was certainly no different. You’re probably thinking I am a tad on the odd bookish nerd side, but I can tell you one thing, after reading this particular book, I am SO glad that I go by the title and covers of books instead of the blurbs (mostly).

Polly is a ‘virtual assistant’. She works for clients without meeting them (or leaving her home office). However, the job that she was asked to do meant she had to leave her home and play detective for a boat business. There is one slight hindrance with that, Polly and boats do not mix well, especially when everything is not as it seems!

As soon as I found out Polly’s job, I wondered (and still do) how I could make that my job! (PS, if you know, do tell me!)
Polly is such a loveable character, she comes across in the story as such a down to earth person. I must admit that I did warm to her straight away! As the story unfolds it’s quite clear my original guess about the book is completely way off mark, and I’m glad because it had considerably more oomph to it than my guess. ‘I’m Virtually Yours’ is a novella (short story), and it is ideal if you fancy something to read that isn’t too heavy, but has enough detail in it to keep you interested. I loved how the story was quite fast paced in terms of the storyline, but I am curious as to what happened after with Polly and the boats. They say romance happens when you least expect it. Jennifer Bohnet certainly hit the nail on the head with that, especially as Polly went to Devon to investigate the boats, NOT the boatmen.

Reading ‘I’m Virtually Yours’ has given me a taster of Jennifer’s writing style; which means I am now more excited to read the other books she has written. This novella is such a fun, light-hearted and warming read. I needed to read a book that let me get lost within its words..this book did just that. Such a pleasure to read.

One thought on “Guess what Jennifer Bohnet! Surprise! ‘I’m Virtually yours.’

Leave a Reply

