It’s wedding season! How about ‘Four Weddings..and a Fiasco’?

Four Weddings and a Fiasco by Catherine Ferguson.
Published: 16th June 2016 by Avon (Harpercollins).
ISBN-10: 0008163618
ISBN-13: 978-0008163617
Available to buy from Amazon UK.

‘The ebook bestseller is back with her next riotously funny read! Get your hands on the ONLY book you need this summer. 
Katy Peacock lives a life as colourful as her name. As a wedding photographer, she spends her days making other people smile as she captures all sorts of fun and capers at celebrations that range from the wacky to the wild. 
But her own life isn’t looking quite so rosy. Her mum is acting out of character, her menacing ex is back on the scene, and she is torn between two gorgeous men. And that’s before we even get started on the trouble her sister is causing . . .
As Katy weathers the ups and downs of the season, she revisits problems from the past, discovers new friendships and finds that four weddings and a fiasco have the power to change her world beyond measure.’

Time to put your dancing shoes on as it’s TWG’s stop on the ‘Four Weddings and a Fiasco’ blog tour!! A big thank you to Harpercollins publishing for inviting me onto the tour; the cover alone caught my eye before I received the invitation, so I was rather excited when my e-mail notification pinged to tell me that I had the opportunity to be involved with a book I was very eager to read! It most certainly didn’t disappoint either!
Katy Peacock hasn’t been lucky in love in the past. She has had multiple failed relationships which means she has put the idea of herself walking down the aisle, on a backburner…for now. Despite that, there has been nothing (yet) to stop her being able to make other people happy on their special day. Instead of being the one that is in the photographs, Katy is the person taking the photographs. Unfortunately for Katy, it’s hasn’t just been her love life relationships that have failed, her own family relationships have suffered over the years also. Can Katy fix the mess that she was left in? Or will she end up finding herself in more of a difficult position? They say that there are two sides to every story….if both sides talk to each other that is.
As I said above, the cover caught my eye before I got invited onto the tour. Whilst it is quite a simple cover, it made me rather intrigued as to what it was ‘hiding’. I couldn’t wait to see what Catherine Ferguson had in store for me as I began reading the book. By the end of the first chapter I realised that there was more to Katy that meets the eye. She comes across as a very lovely, humble lady, but there was just something I couldn’t put my finger on. You’re probably thinking that one chapter isn’t long enough to get to know a character in a book, and you’re right, but you can begin to work out each character usually by the end of the first chapter. I say usually, this time I hadn’t!
I thoroughly enjoyed reading about all the different weddings that Katy was involved in, learning about each and every character and what makes them tick, and whether each wedding will go without a hitch. I’m not being pessimistic but there’s bound to be something that goes iffy during a wedding isn’t there? Even if it was just a lost shoe! Luckily for you though, Four Weddings and a Fiasco isn’t just about a lost shoe, it is full to the brim of secrets, betrayal, but most importantly, hope.
The story follows Katy throughout her job as a wedding photographer as well as capturing moments that could either re-light her fire, or extinguish it. Not only that, each of the weddings that Katy is involved in have their own story to tell. Some of the weddings aren’t as straight forward as the others, but one in particular had me bent over laughing because of the extraordinary events that happened. As the saying goes ‘photographs capture moments that words cannot’. I found that saying come to life on more than one occasion throughout the whole story. Many relationships were put to the test; what would you prefer: perfect wedding or a perfect relationship with a few bumps on the wedding day?
Catherine Ferguson has written Katy’s personality like you’re reading a story about a close friend. I warmed to Katy quicker than I did the other characters and multiple times I felt extremely sorry for the things that she has faced.
But what was the fiasco?! If you’re like me, you’re probably wondering what it might be as soon as you have read the title. Although, to begin with my curiosity about the ‘fiasco’ soon disappeared as the story came to life. Not only has Catherine captured her characters in a wonderful way, she captured my heart with such a warm and heartfelt story. It had me captivated and mesmerized, I did not want it to end! Reading ‘Four Weddings and a Fiasco’ felt like I was in the middle of a 21st century love story four times over.
Extraordinary book from a very talented author. I am so looking forward to what Catherine has in store for us with her next book!

f5826777-059c-45fb-abb5-619d0f88d8bf

You’re in for a double treat today! Not only have I written this review, Catherine Ferguson has written a short story featuring the main character of ‘Four Weddings and a Fiasco’, Katy Peacock. If you have been following the blog tour so far, you would have come across the other parts to the short story! Here, especially for you, is part nine of the short story. Thank you to Catherine and Harpercollins for allowing me to share this with you on my blog, I am extremely honoured! (Especially as one of the characters names sounds like mine 😉 ).  I hope you enjoy:

ONE BRIDE AND A BOMBSHELL 

9

How odd, though, that I’d been thinking only the night before about her horrible bullying. When I was in the pub talking to…?
What was his name?
My lips twitched in a rueful smile. We’d talked about pretty big stuff yet we didn’t even know each others’ names! 
Camilla left to make her phone call and I walked briskly over to the purpose-built annexe where the wedding ceremonies took place. 
When I entered the room, a string quartet were in the process of setting up at the back, and the groom and best man were already there, standing by the altar. 
I glanced over at them and to my surprise, I realised I actually recognised the groom. It was the man with the beard and curly black hair from last night. The man who’d come over to ask if his mate wanted a drink. It was a small world. 
As I approached with my camera, he looked across at me and I saw a flicker of recognition as his eyes landed on me. I took a deep breath and hid my nerves behind a big smile. ‘Hi there, you must be Jonathan. Pleased to meet you. I’m Katy Peacock, Camilla Radcliffe’s assistant.’ 
He grinned and shook my hand. ‘Actually, it’s not me going to the slaughter today,’ he joked. ‘I’m Keesha’s brother, Lewis. This is Jonathan, the lucky groom.’
A sandy-haired man, who’d had his back to me, now turned. I stared in amazement. It was the man I’d talked to in the pub. 
‘Well, hello,’ he smiled. ‘Fancy seeing you again.’
‘Yes, fancy!’ I forced a laugh, as my head reeled all over the place.
This man, Jonathan, was getting married. To Keesha Dixon
It didn’t make sense. 
Keesha was the woman he’d been telling me about in the pub? The woman who was so generous and kind-hearted, she gave her money away in the street? And who, for years, had selflessly run marathons and raised money for charity, despite having asthma? 
But it was all lies!
The Keesha I’d known back then was so lazy, she’d bunk off PE every chance she got. 

I stared at Jonathan, wondering what the hell to say. 
His bride-to-be had never been bullied at school. Ever. For one very important reason. 
Keesha ‘Crusher’ Dixon was the bully!

 

Leave a Reply

