‘Love Me for Me’ says Jenny Hale! TWG says..#bookreview!

Love Me for Me.
Published: 21st May 2014 by Bookouture.
Available to buy from Amazon UK and Amazon US.
Add it to your GoodReads shelf!

‘Sometimes you find perfect where you least expect it…
Libby Potter has just lost the perfect job, the perfect apartment and the perfect boyfriend. Moving back to the home town that she couldn’t wait to escape when she was younger was definitely not on her to-do list. Especially as it means running into the man whose heart she broke when she left.
Pete Bennett can still make Libby’s world stop with just the sound of his voice – even ten years on. Only now, she is the last person in the world that he wants to see.
As everyone else welcomes Libby home with open arms, she realizes she’s missed that special closeness that comes from lifelong friendship. And, as Libby seeks to make amends with Pete, she begins to wonder whether she made the right choice in leaving all those years ago.
When an amazing career opportunity gives her the chance to leave again, Libby will have to decide what her version of perfect is… and where she really belongs. ‘

Jenny Hale has always been a familiar name that has stuck in my mind for ages, and I couldn’t quite place where from. I mean, I knew she wrote books, obviously, but which ones? I knew I had seen them somewhere. So, one rainy day in May, I scurried off to Amazon to do a little bit of detective work. As you do. Within 0.1232 seconds I had a lightbulb moment. I KNOW WHAT BOOKS! How do I know? Because I had put a load of them into my wish list…and never bought them. Such an idiot!!!!! Soon after I was involved in ASI (author scene investigation 😉 ), I noticed on Twitter that Jenny was about to release a new book Summer at Oyster Bay (casually throws in a clicky to the new book). Anyway! Back I went to Amazon and gave myself a swift talking to. I wanted to read her new book but I had to read an older one first, for research purposes….’Love Me for Me’ it was!

Libby has lost her livelihood; her job, her boyfriend AND her home. For someone who has to have a plan in life, Libby finds herself faced with severe uncertainty of what lies before her. Which path should she choose? She gave up her old life to move to the big city, and now people of the big city have given Libby up. It’s time to see whether Libby follows her heart or her head….or her mother’s influence….
When you’re of a certain age, with your whole life in front of you to do whatever you choose, it can make you feel incredibly powerful. Your life, your decisions, yes? Well, it’s never that simple. What if you were made to think that a well paid job in the big city and power meant success? What if you were made to think that staying local meant you had failed?
After reading ‘Love Me for Me’ I felt so disappointed in myself because I had no idea why I hadn’t picked this book to read before now. You can tell that Libby is a lost soul, she has no idea whether she is coming or going, or what she wants to do with her life. As far as she is concerned, she made her bed and now she has to lie in it. I loved walking down memory lane, so to speak, with Libby and Pete. Finding out where they used to go as children, who they used to hang around with, all the little things that never seem important at the time. Yet, as soon as you’re an adult, it’s those little things that make your jigsaw complete. I saw some of myself in Libby’s personality because of the way she couldn’t find the confidence to go with her heart instead of worrying what people would think of her.
I seem to be saying that a lot, that I can relate to quite a few characters in stories, but I love feeling connected to a book in that way.
Reading some of the novel with Pete’s thoughts and feelings in the back of my mind, I could tell how much of an ‘old soul’ he was. Heart in the right place, but he was going with his head, the complete opposite to Libby.
I thoroughly enjoyed ‘Love Me for Me’. There was always something within the storyline to keep me wanting more, whether it was an emotional part or nosiness! I can honestly say I could not find one fault with this book AT ALL. Well, except that it had to end, but I suppose that one is allowed ;). Just like Libby, family has always been important but I have never been the sort to do family meet up’s. However, after reading Libby’s story it made me realise that family won’t be around forever and instead of thinking ‘i’ll go see them soon’, change that to ‘now’. Soon may never come around. Memories will stay with you, but so will regret, just as Libby finds out.
Such a thought-provoking read filled with love, passion and learning to make the ‘right’ decisions for the ‘right’ time. Absolutely brilliant.

3 thoughts on “‘Love Me for Me’ says Jenny Hale! TWG says..#bookreview!

  1. I haven’t read anything by Jenny Hale so far, although it’s quite possible there are some books on my wishlist already too. I think I could really enjoy reading this story. I’m a sucker for romance with a HEA and I don’t think it will go differently here. Sometimes that’s all I want in the end.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

