It may be Liz Tipping’s publication day, but she wants to spend it talking to TWG!!

DON’T YOUUU, FORGET ABOUT MEEEE, DON’T DON’T DON’T!
Why is it that I tend to sing or dance or speak about cakes, whenever I blog? Hmmmm! I wonder!
TWG would like to say a MASSIVE congratulations to Liz Tipping as today her novel ‘Don’t you forget about me’ is released for you to buy! I pre-ordered my copy and it pinged straight onto my kindle first thing this morning, felt like Christmas! I must say, I’m incredibly surprised that Liz isn’t having a bath in champagne tonight as she is here talking to me! I asked her some rather exciting questions to find out what made her tick, here’s what she said:
(Oh, and Liz? I totally want my million bonus points on a picture…for my blog…don’t you forget about me now 😉 )

TWG: Banana’s or strawberries?
After much deliberation I am going with strawberries because you cant make jam out of bananas.

TWG: Heels or flats?
Flats- I only own one pair of shoes and I’m always in trainers.

TWG: Giraffes or koalas?
Love both, but I saw a giraffe at Dudley Zoo and they are so beautiful!

TWG: Left or right?
Right!

TWG: The Breakfast Club or Breakfast At Tiffany’s?
Has to be The Breakfast Club. I love that film so much! That ending!

Next – would you?

TWG: Would you run around a supermarket in your PJ’s singing ‘don’t you forget about me?’
Probably not even though I do find myself singing sometimes in the supermarket!

TWG: Would you prank a significant other because your best friend told you to?
No, I’d do it myself anyway without prompting

TWG: Would you arrange a surprise party for someone that disliked surprises?
Ha ha, no I wouldn’t. I’m not too keen on parties myself, they’re too much like enforced fun.

General.

TWG: If you could become any animal, what would you become and why?
A bird so I could soar high above the world – and you know, also poop on my enemies

TWG: Name the superpower you would love to have, and why.

A bot of telekinesis wouldn’t go amiss. Very handy for all those times when you went into the kitchen for something and returned to the couch and got all comfy. You could just summon your KitKat without having to go back and fetch it

TWG: What is the weirdest or most unusual thing that you have done in a dare?
I don’t think I have done anything like that. I mustn’t be very daring.

Book time!

TWG: Some people might not get what your book links to in terms of the title (do I get bonus points for saying that I did?!). For those that didn’t, what was your inspiration behind your book?

Yes! A million bonus points are herby awarded to you. My latest novel is influenced by the films of the late, great John Hughes. In the 1980s John Hughes directed some of the most memorable teen movies of our time including my favourites The Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink and Some Kind of Wonderful.
Like Andie in Pretty in Pink, Cara is from “the wrong side of the tracks” and feels like she doesn’t quite fit in so she is on a mission to find her thing. Like the characters in The Breakfast Club, she wonders if she is an athlete, a princess, a brain, a criminal or a basket case and attempts to discover if any of these could apply to her.

TWG: If you could sum up your book in 5 words, what would they be?
Funny, nostalgic, quirky, romantic and summery.

TWG: Were there any characters in your book that you found yourself disliking?
There are a few, but I changed my mind about them as the book went on.

TWG: How long did ‘Don’t you forget about me’ take to write?
I wrote the first draft in a month as part of Nanowrimoo- National Novel Writing month, but then spent a good while rewriting it.

TWG: Was your book based on yourself or anyone else in particular?
No, not really, but I did work in a video library like Cara does and a lot of the things the customers say to her are things that have been said to me.

TWG: What is your writing process like? Do you plan first? Need to write in quiet?
Yes, I like to plan , I love to know exactly what is going to happen apart from the last couple of chapters which I decided on as I write the book. Sometimes I am surprised by the ending!

TWG: Have you got any exclusives that you can tell us? When a next book is coming out (after this one)? Tell us what is in store for you next!
I haven’t got any plans just at the moment for a new one, just a few scribbles really. I’ll be sure to let you know when I have concrete plans in place.

About Liz Tipping.

13001143_1085410661531067_8501993642483145278_n

As well as reading and writing novels, and blogging, I enjoy watching John Hughes films and science fiction box sets. I also love reality television, Irish sausages and ginger beer. I love camping, glamping , polka dots,  adventures to the seaside and having a natter on twitter. I live with my husband and our beagle, Mary.

Liz’s Facebook
Liz’s Twitter
Sign up to Liz’s newsletter

About the book – Don’t you forget about me.
51goEGAlLKL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_
Buy ‘Don’t you forget about me’ from Amazon

Cara Dunham is definitely one of them. But stuck in her small hometown, with no prospects of escape, she’s struggling to find her thing. Her life is more book club than Breakfast Club and there is no Judd Nelson in sight!
So when Cara is invited to a school reunion she knows this is her chance to channel her inner Molly Ringwald and grab her John Hughes moment, once and for all. Because her teenage love, Daniel Rose will be there, the coolest boy at school and the one that got away. But transforming into an 80’s icon isn’t easy and Cara enlists the help of her oldest friend, Stubbs, to teach her all she needs to know about being cool and quirky – a la Ringwald.
Except Stubbs thinks she’s perfect, just as she is and takes it upon himself to show Cara that her life might not be ‘movie perfect’, but there is always another take to get things right. And maybe the hero she’s dreamed of has been under her nose the whole time…’

 

Leave a Reply

