Blog Tour Stop! Winging it by Cate Cameron.

untitled (16)


About the author – Cate Cameron.

Cate Cameron grew up in the city but moved to the country in her mid-twenties and isn’t looking back. Most of her writing deals with people living and loving in small towns or right out in the sticks—when there aren’t entertainment options on every corner, other people get a lot more interesting! She likes to write stories about real people struggling with real issues. YA, NA, or contemporary romance, her books are connected by their emphasis on subtle humor and characters who are trying to do the right thing, even when it would be a lot easier to do something wrong.

Keep up to date with Cate’s news here: Cate’s Website/Cate’s Twitter/Cate’s Facebook/Cate’s Goodreads

Book Title: Winging It (Corrigan Falls Raiders, #3)
Author: Cate Cameron
Release Date: 16th May 2016
Genre: YA Romance
Available to buy from: Amazon US/Barnes and Noble/iBooks/Kobo/Amazon UK/Amazon.ca/Entangled Publishing


‘Disclaimer: This Entangled Teen Crush book contains adult language, ice-melting kisses, and a swoon-worthy hero.
This fake relationship romance will have you wishing for a hockey player of your own…Natalie West and Toby Cooper were best friends growing up, on and off the ice. But when Toby’s hockey career took off, their friendship was left behind. Now Natalie has a crazy plan to land her crush—Toby’s biggest rival—and she needs Toby’s help to pull it off. When Nat asks Toby to be her fake boyfriend, he can’t say no. Not when it means getting his best friend back. But Natalie is all grown up now, and spending time with her—even when it’s just playing hockey together—stirs up a lot of feelings, old and new. Suddenly pretending to be interested in her isn’t hard at all…if only she wanted him and not his enemy.’

Today it’s my blog’s stop in the ‘Winging it’ blog tour! Very excited to be taking part, so I would like to say a big thank you to Chapter by Chapter, Netgalley and Cate Cameron for giving me the opportunity and allowing me to read the book.

If you wish to see who else is participating in the blog tour, click HERE to find out the tour schedule. Now it’s time for you to hear my thoughts on the book, make sure you’re comfortable!

I must admit, I was a bit sceptical at first because the genre is YA Romance so I thought it was going to be a ‘will you go out with me? tick box yes or no’ type book (not stereotyping, I’m just jealous I’m not as young, sniff). I did give it a go seeing as I chose to review it, and my earlier scepticism was quickly forgotten and I was more than pleasantly surprised. Natalie and Toby have been friends since they were children which means that they are more comfortable with each other than anybody else. Some might say….too comfortable. They can’t see what is literally under their noses, and why should they? Friends throughout their childhood, parents know each other, why would they think it would ever be anything else? Because, they don’t. Natalie seems to think that Toby’s cousin is her ‘Mr Right’ as he is popular, ‘good looking’, and everyone seems to love him. Well, not everyone. But what happens when your impression of someone changes when you begin to get to know them? Is anyone ever what they seem?
Personally, no, everyone isn’t always what they seem as a lot of people tend to hide behind a mask. In this case, two people are hiding behind a mask of rivalry, and the other person doesn’t have a clue. I really enjoyed reading Winging it because it was fun-filled and actioned packed with drama. I don’t like getting myself caught up in drama (usually), but this I enjoyed. When I read that Natalie had come up with the idea of a fake relationship with Toby, I remember shaking my head because obviously it was going to end in tears. Although, I do wonder why Toby agreed to it! Maybe that’s me being a grumpy 26 year old, but, Toby and Natalie are best friends, he showed that he would do anything for his best friend. The story flowed really well, I didn’t feel as though there were any gaps within the story, which is brilliant because I’m a curious devil and I didn’t want to miss out on any of the gossip ha!
Half way through the story as I got into it, I became a cheerleader for the book. No, I didn’t shake my pom poms whilst reading the book from my bed. I mean ‘cheerleader’ as in shouting at the characters in the book because you want them to do something, or you’re getting frustrated with the fact that they dig their heels at a serious point. Does anyone else do that or is it just me? Obviously I don’t expect the characters to talk to me back, that would be weird…. 😉
Anyway, yes, I did just that. Some might say it’s odd, or some might say I got a little TOO involved in the story. I prefer the latter. For me though, that makes it an even better read when you can get yourself that involved in the situations with the characters. With the characters in Winging it, it’s a bit hard not to get involved as all of them have such big personalities and aren’t willing to supress those at any point. Winging it is a tale of young love, grown up decisions and enjoying your youth. I giggled in places, smiled, got annoyed at one…maybe two particular characters, and found myself to be disappointed that it was finished. Thoroughly good read. How far would you for love? I wouldn’t try winging it if I were you, but I would definitely READ ‘Winging it’, you won’t be disappointed.

Thank you again for stopping by The Writing Garnet’s stop on the Winging it by Cate Cameron Blog Tour.

The tour was brought to you by….

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

