A book review of Summer at Rose Island by Holly Martin.

Summer at Rose Island by Holly Martin.
Published: 13th May 2016 by Bookouture.
Available to buy from Amazon UK and Amazon US.

Darcy Davenport is ready for a fresh start. Determined to leave a string of disastrous jobs and relationships behind her, she can’t wait to explore White Cliff Bay and meet the locals.
When Darcy swims in the crystal clear waters of the bay, she discovers the charming Rose Island Lighthouse. But it’s not just the beautiful building that she finds so intriguing…
Riley Eddison doesn’t want change. Desperate to escape the memories of his past, he lives a life of solitude in the lighthouse. Yet he can’t help but notice the gorgeous woman who swims out to his island one day.

Darcy is drawn to the mysterious and sexy Riley, but when it seems the town is trying to demolish his home, she soon finds herself having to pick sides.
She’s fallen in love with White Cliff Bay. But is that all Darcy’s fallen for?’

 I would like to say a big thank you to Netgalley and Bookouture for giving me the opportunity to review Holly’s book!

Have you ever found yourself surrounded by disappointing comments about yourself? Yes? Not nice is it, can really knock your self esteem. Especially when all you’ve been trying to do is please other people. Does that sound familiar? For Miss Darcy Davenport, that was her life. She relied on underwater creatures to keep her going, oh, and the support of her brother. Darcy decides enough is enough and goes to create a new life for her and her dog, Ben, in White Cliff Bay. Within days of being in the Bay, Darcy has managed to befriend most of the locals…apart from one. Will that one local ruin her chance of a positive new start? Or will she manage to find her own special ‘treasure’ in the Bay?
Summer at Rose Island will be the perfect addition to your luggage when you go on holiday; sun, sea, sand…what more could a girl want? Within the first few lines of the book you’re transported into Darcy’s world and her love for the underwater creatures. If you had no interest in different species of fish, or shark, then after reading this book, you will want to enrol into university to study to become a marine biologist! Ahem, I did! Darcy decided to pack up her life and move to where her Aunt used to live, much to her parents disappointment. Although to be fair, anything Darcy did was a disappointment to them. I felt really sorry for Darcy because she just wanted to make her loved ones proud of her, even if that meant losing her happiness in the process. All of the characters in the story were very likeable (apart from Darcy’s parents), but my favourite has to be Darcy. She is such a loveable and humble person with such a bubbly personality which, for me, makes her very relatable.
I found Summer at Rose Island to be such a hilarious read, with many laugh out loud moments. The way everyone in the Bay united made me feel like I was around some good friends. Even though I was reading a book, and I wasn’t Darcy….or a shark. Does that make sense?! I hadn’t read Holly Martin’s other books before I read this one, so it was interesting to see what her style of writing was like, and her humour! Humour is definitely on point, and her style is so descriptive, I loved it. Holly’s description of the bay, the people, and even the situations, made the story. I felt like I wasn’t reading a book. I felt like I was seeing it all for myself, with my very own eyes. Incredible.
Throughout the story I tried to guess what was going to happen and thought it would be rather predictable, but I was always surprised by how the story went. In a good way obviously! Summer at Rose Island would be the perfect addition to your luggage this holiday season because it is full of romance, giggles and personality. It is a book that you can escape into and relax with, making it such a light-hearted and loveable read. If only my holiday this year was to Rose Island and White Cliff Bay…

Leave a Reply

