An Autumn Affair by Alice Ross. Book Review.

An Autumn Affair by Alice Ross. (Book one of Countryside Dreams series).
Published: 21st April 2015 by Carina UK.
Available on Amazon in Kindle format.

‘Autumn is coming. Anything could happen…
Julia is contemplating an affair with ex-boyfriend Max after a chance meeting in the cereal aisle of the supermarket…and finding that he’s just as gorgeous as ever.
Miranda has got it all: expensive clothes, a huge house and her enormously wealthy husband, Doug. So why does she feel as if something is missing?
Faye is fed up of being treated like a child – she’s a teenager, and knows what she wants! She’s determined to escape her sleepy life at Primrose Cottage…
Three women, each with two options, needing to make one choice. When it comes to affairs of the heart, nothing is ever simple.’

An Autumn Affair follows the lives of two grown women and a teenager on the verge of becoming an adult. All three ladies have their own story to tell, and as it is known, everyone’s story is different. These ladies are no exception. At first you’re introduced to Julia; a woman who has spent over twenty years trying to get over her first love…by getting married to a man called Paul and having twins. Sounds pretty straight forward doesn’t it? But, during her typical Friday food shopping, Julia found herself re-evaluating her life by a box of Frosties. Thanks to her daughter Faye getting herself into a ‘minor’ pickle, Julia’s eyes become fully open to what has been the obvious decision all along. But is it an easy one?
Now Faye. The teenager. Julia’s daughter. The teenager that wants to be treated like an adult and act like an adult, but doesn’t seem to want to think about consequences. Which results in her wanting her mum…but at what cost?
The third lady you come across in the story is Miranda. She is married to a very wealthy man and has one daughter. She has the lifestyle most women would dream of. But can money really buy happiness? Is everything in Miranda’s life as rosy as people think?
What can I say about ‘An Autumn Affair’? Quite a lot actually! This was another book that I picked to read purely based on the cover, and the title, so everything I read was going to be a surprise. I felt the switching between the three ladies was ever so slightly confusing to begin with, but once I got into the story it flowed so well and I became grateful it was split because my attention could be on each lady and their individual stories. I was hooked after the second chapter and it get me gripped throughout. Every time I read what one lady got up to, I was itching to find out what happened to the next one! Each lady had their own problems to deal with and it did keep me guessing because just when I thought I could predict the next situation, I was totally wrong. I love books that do that! For me personally, the whole point of reading a book is to be surprised and to feel like you’re on an emotional rollercoaster. Did this book live to that? 100% yes. I was shocked at some of the characters stupidity, humbled by how one person can forgive a betrayal, and yes, I welled up. Shock!
Most importantly though I felt that the story carried a very strong message about identity, life and choosing the path that is right for you. Whilst all three ladies seem to be good at putting on a front and making themselves think that they’re happy, deep down they aren’t. But in the end, who gets hurt the most? Whilst the book had humour and light-hearted moments, it also had some very real moments which were written with a great deal of compassion. Reading ‘An Autumn Affair’ has been an eye-opener, and a  wonderful thought-provoking read. I loved it. If I could sum up this book in one sentence I would say that it is a hug in a book and definitely my go to book of the year so far. I cannot wait to read the second one.

2 thoughts on “An Autumn Affair by Alice Ross. Book Review.

  1. Pingback: Which season do your secrets appear in? Apparently, Alice Ross has ‘A Summer of Secrets’!! | The Writing Garnet

Leave a Reply

